The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Salgaocar humiliate Bagan

Calcutta: Mohun Bagan crashed to the ground in a cruel reminder of where they actually stand. Salgaocar proved beyond doubt on Monday that Baganís nine-goal spree in the two earlier matches was nothing but a fluke, and that they are not on a par with the best this season.

Salgaocar, playing solid tactical football, humiliated the Calcutta giants 2-0 at the Salt Lake Stadium. They were in charge right from the beginning and never looked in any kind of trouble.

The Goa side is an extremely fit outfit and it is in the fitness of things that they are placed second with 22 points behind East Bengal on the league table. Bagan, however, are on 18, and they might find it tough staying in the top five.

A two-goal defeat does not mean the end of the world. But what was agonising for the city team was the ease with which Salgaocar beat them. Itís been long since the green-and-maroon brigade has looked so helpless in front of an outstation team at home.

The Salgaocar boys, increased men in attack as well as defence very well, courtesy, their high fitness level.

There was hardly any wing-play by the Bagan players, though Rennedy Singh, playing as the left-half, toiled hard. Some of his efforts from the set-piece were the only bright spots on an otherwise horrible show.

Even after conceding the goal, there wasnít much organisation on their part in the middle-third.

So horrible was the performance of the likes of Sheikh Sanjeeb and Sunil Chettri, that Jose Ramirez Barreto had to fall back to help the midfielders. And that took off the little bit of fizz that Bagan had in their attacks.

Bagan conceded lead in the 13th minute when Rassaq beat Dulal Biswas with a superb outside dodge and took a powerful left-footer. Goalkeeper Bivash Ghosh failed to cover the first post and let it in.

In the 74th minute, Sunday Seah was brought down by Yakubu inside the box and Climax Lawrence made no mistake from the spot.


Salgaocar: Kalyan Chowbey (Juje Siddi, 64); Manitombi Singh, Prashant Jaggi, Covan Lawrence, Roberto Fernandes, Bello Rassaq; Tomba Singh (Denis Cabral, 90), Climax Lawrence, Dharamjit Singh; Sunday Seah, Samson Singh (Jatin Bisht, 76)

Mohun Bagan: Bivash Ghosh (Rajat Ghosh Dastidar, 54); Dulal Biswas, Yakubu, Satish Bharti, Lolendra Singh; Basudeb Mondal, Palash Karmakar, Rennedy Singh; Sheikh Sanjeeb (Sunil Chettri, 46, Amar Ganguly 76), Jose Ramirez Barreto, George Ekeh.

Referee: P. Bhaskar.

Email This Page