The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Nisha on doorstep to WGM title

Mumbai: Top seed Grandmaster K. Sasikiran of Tamil Nadu increased his lead by two points with a creditable 51-move win over fourth seed GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly of Bengal after the 16th round of the 40th National A menís chess championship here on Tuesday.

In the 29th womenís National A being played simultaneously, overnight leader Nisha Mohota of Bengal and third seed WIM Aarthie Ramaswamy of Tamil Nadu, who beat her statemate Sai Meera, shared the lead with 7.5 points each after ten rounds.

Nisha drew her tenth round match with fourth seed WIM S. Meenakshi of Tamil Nadu.

Nisha has already played two WGMs and needs to play B. Vijayalakshmi to seal her WGM title. Though Nisha has already secured the required points, she has to complete this formality before she can become a WGM. Aarthieís WGM title nod, meanwhile, has not come in from Fide.

Sasikiran, who has 13 points to his credit, is two points ahead of second placed GM and second seed P. Harikrishna of Andhra Pradesh.


Menís 16th round: S. Satyapragyan (7) drew with S. Saha (6); G.B. Prakash (7.5) bt S. Soman (3.5); S. Kidambi (8) drew with D. Barua (10); P.M. Thipsay (7.5) drew with Lanka Ravi (8); K. Sasikiran (13) bt S.S. Ganguly (8.5); P. Mokal (5) bt Tejas Bakre (7.5); P. Harikrishna (11) drew with N. Das (8.5); S. Roy (8) bt M.R. Venkatesh; Arvind Shastry (6) bt R.B. Ramesh (6.5); V. Saravanan (5) drew with Abhijit Kunte (10.5).

Womenís 10th round: Tania Sachdev (5.5) bt Y. Pratibha (4); Krutika Nadig (2) drew with Swati Mohota (2); Swati Ghate (5) bt B. Vijayalakshmi (6.5); N. Mohota (7.5) drew with S. Meenakshi (5.5); Aarthie Ramaswamy (7.5) bt Sai Meera (1.5); D. Harika (6) bt J.E. Kavitha (2). (PTI)

Email This Page