The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Umpire allows Nehra just a single

Auckland, Jan. 11 (PTI): Even as India celebrated their narrow one-wicket victory against New Zealand , confusion abounded about the runs produced by Ashish Nehra’s winning shot on the penultimate ball of the match.With India needing one run from the last two balls to overhaul New Zealand’s 199 for nine, Nehra pulled Andre Adams over the crowded in-field for a boundary. He and partner Jawagal Srinath also ran a single before returning to the pavilion to join in the celebrations.

The television company covering the match live put India’s total at 203 for nine from 48.5 overs and Nehra’s individual score to four runs from one ball.

But as it turned out later, India were credited with only a single and their final score was 200 for nine. Officials here explained that the two batsmen had completed their single before the ball reached the boundary. And as the target was overtaken with that single, the match was deemed to have finished at that point. Whether the ball travelled to the boundary after that was immaterial, they said.

They also pointed out that the umpire had not signalled a boundary for that shot.

Email This Page