The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Ranadeb officially makes E. Zone squad

East Zone will be without the services of Deep Dasgupta, Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Sourashish Lahiri in the forthcoming Deodhar Trophy matches in South Zone starting Friday. The trio was not given permission by the Metro Railways to play in the inter-zonal meet, as an inter-railways tournament will be on at the same time. Ranadeb Bose (Bengal), Rashmi Ranjan Parida and Sanjay Raul (Orissa) will replace them.

CAB knockout

Shibpur Institute beat Paikpara Sporting by 69 runs in their CAB senior knockout match Tuesday. Shibpur put up 317 for four, with big innings from Subrata Ghosal (138) and Kingshuk Das (109). Paikpara could manage 248 for five in their 45 overs.

Brief scores

Shibpur Institute 317/4 in 45 ovs (S. Ghosal 138, K. Das 109). Paikpara Sptg 248/5 in 54 ovs (S. Sinha 71, S Mukherjee 53 n.o.). Shibpur won by 69 runs.

First div. league

In a CAB senior division league match, Netaji Subhas Institute made 356 for nine in 85 overs versus BNR Recreation Club. Adipta Mukherjee hit 152 while BNR’s Syed Mujahid Hussain grabbed four for 64.

Brief scores

NSI 356/9 in 85 ovs (A Mukherjee 152, P Bhattacharya 50; SM Hussain 4/64). BNR to bat.

Schools’ cricket

St Xavier’s and hosts St Lawrence won their respective matches in the St Lawrence Old Boys’ Association inter-school cricket meet Tuesday. While St Xavier’s beat South Point by seven wickets in an under-13 tie, St Lawrence beat La Martiniere by 4 wickets in an under-16 match.


n South Point 135/2 in 25 ovs (Krishnayan Chatterjee 70, Devarshi Mookerjee 44). St Xavier’s 136/3 in 17.3 ovs (Avishek Nair 63 n.o.). St Xavier’s won by 7 wkts.

n La Martiniere 213/6 in 25 ovs (Sourabh Tikmany 69, Gaurav Belani 40). St Lawrence 215/6 in 23.1 ovs (Pawan Mishra 40, Harsh Saraf 32, Indranil Sirkar 30). St Lawrence won by 4 wkts.

Soccer school

Rajpur Junior Football Coaching School has completed ten years. To commemorate this, the school will stage programmes all of next year, including an eight-team football meet. The meet, to be held in April, will be attended by sub-junior teams of East Bengal, SAI and others. An under-16 team from Bangladesh will also be around in November to play an exhibition match.

Officials of the school said at a pressmeet Tuesday that the school has produced many junior talents, like Sanat Mondal, Azizul Mondal, Sanjay Hazari and Subhas Mondal.

TT felicitation

Felicitating its successful players has become habitual for the Bengal Table Tennis Association (BTTA) these days. Not that the association can help it, what with several seniors and almost all their juniors clinching national titles. Thursday, at the press room of Netaji Indoor Stadium, the BTTA will be holding another such function, those to be lauded this time being stars of the last National Games in Hyderabad and of the sub-junior nationals in Haryana.

Title for Tandon

Ten-year-old Ramit Tandon of Calcutta won the Scottish junior Open under-11 title in Edinburgh Monday. In the final, the unseeded Tandon beat the No. 1 seed, Robert Downer of England 5-9, 9-5, 9-0, 9-2, according to information received here.

State kabaddi

West Bengal Police Tuesday beat SB Kabaddi 22-14 in their state kabaddi meet match Tuesday.

Also Tuesday, Subhasis Banerjee, a former referee of the West Bengal Kabaddi Association, passed away after a cardiac arrest. He was 59.


GENERAL: Torch relay of Friends’ Union Club as part of centenary year celebration of the club from Gostho Paul statue, Maidan, to Konnagar, 11am.

CRICKET: SLOBA inter-school meet — U-13: St Xavier’s vs Bhawanipore Guj. Edi. Society, 7.3oam. U-16: Bhawanipore Guj. Edi. Society vs St James, 12 noon. Matches at St Lawrence ground.

Email This Page