The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bandh boost to Kamrup agitation

Guwahati, Dec. 28: The Tarun Gogoi government’s decision to bifurcate Kamrup district faced stiff opposition today with the 10-hour district bandh called by the Opposition Asom Gana Parishad evoking spontaneous and almost total response.

Buoyed by the success of the bandh, the AGP this evening said the anti-bifurcation movement will gather steam in the days to come, setting the stage for a major confrontation between the ruling Congress and the Opposition.

“The support we received today reflected the people’s resentment against the division of Kamrup. The government move has no support. The all-party meeting to be convened by us will decide on the future course of action,” AGP leader Nurul Hussain said.

The bandh, by and large peaceful, sent normal life haywire with shops and business establishments remaining closed and vehicles staying off the road. Even the streets, which usually bristle with energy during bandhs with young and old playing cricket and football, wore a deserted and forlorn look.

The state-run Assam State Transport Corporation ran a skeletal service amid massive security bandobast. Several AGP functionaries, including senior leaders, were rounded up by police but were later released. Former ministers Biraj Sharma, Moidul Islam Bora, Jatin Mali and Ramendra Narayan Kalita were part of the preventive arrests.

Even the government admitted that the bandh had affected normal life. According to the Opposition, M.G.V.K. Bhanu, commissioner and secretary to the chief minister, was behind the bifurcation move to appease certain officials.

Kamrup deputy commissioner A.K. Absar Hazarika said, “It is a decision that has been taken by the government.”

Kamrup district comprises two sub-divisions, Guwahati and Rangiya. There are 13 revenue circles under Guwahati sub-division and four under Rangiya sub-division.

According to the government notification, after the bifurcation Guwahati district would include the area under the nine city police stations as well as those within the Azara, Rani, Chandrapur, Panikhaiti, North Guwahati, Jorabat, Sonapur and Khetri police stations.

Email This Page