The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Devang stars in Tolly win

Devang Gandhi’s 112 of 83 balls helped Tollygunge Agragami beat Mohammedan Sporting by six runs in a CAB knock-out match Tuesday.


n Tollygunge Agragami 226/7 (Devang Gandhi 112, Arindam Das 41; Amit Tiwari 2/34). Mohammedan Sporting 220/9 (Rakesh Joshi 57; Virendra Yadav 3/41). Tollygunge Agragami won by six runs.

nAryan 204/8 (Nirban Goswami 55; Deepayan Mustafi 3/56). Young Bengal 201/6 (Sudip Mitra 46; Mazhar Ali 3/22). Aryan won by three runs.

n Victoria Sporting 190 (Abhijit Chatterjee 72). Customs 188/8 (Prasenjit Ganguly 45; Dilip Yadav 3/26). Victoria won by two runs.

n Rajasthan 151/8 (Afzal Siddiqui 42; Ujjal Das 3/19). ABPSC 155/3 (Ujjal Das 68 no, Sujoy Das 40 no). ABPSC won by seven wickets.

n Calcutta Rangers 162 (Pradip Dey 73; Soumen Karmakar 4/22). DKS 159/9 (Probal Dutta 43; Aditya Dutta 4/24). Rangers won by three runs.

IFA letter

IFA has issued a strong letter to Mohun Bagan urging them to take part in the IFA Shield from January 8 to 20. The IFA secretary Ranjit Gupta said it is obligatory for the club to take part in the meet.

Darbhanga Cup

61 CAV beat NDA/IMA in the penultimate round of the Darbhanga Cup (8 goals) polo tournament Tuesday. In the final, they will meet FWPC/ASC Wednesday.

Junior chess

Ten and five players jointly led the field at the end of the third round in the U-11 boys’ and girls’ categories, respectively, of the national chess meet at the Salt Lake Stadium Tuesday.

In the U-13 section, 11 boys and four girls led the field.

Rupesh wins

Rupesh Roy of Bengal won his match against S. Zubair of Andhra Pradesh 6-1, 6-1 in the U-16 boys category of the Adhip Mukerjea memorial junior tennis tournament Tuesday.

OTHER WINNERS: Boys — Karan Dhillon, Biplab Das, Akshay Bajoria. Girls — Shivika Burman, Karina Ahuja.


CRICKET: CAB knock-out matches at various grounds from 9:30 am.

TENNIS: Adhip Mukerjea Memorial meet at JMTA from 9 am.

CHESS: National U-11 and 13 meet at the Salt Lake Stadium.

POLO: Darbhanga Cup final at Pat Williamson ground, RCTC from 3 pm.

Email This Page