The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
East ignore Ranadeb

Calcutta: Bengal spearhead Ranadeb Bose has been left out of the East Zone squad for the Deodhar Trophy matches to be played in South Zone from January 3 to 12. The 15-member squad will be led by Rohan Gavaskar.

Ranadeb, who has 14 wickets from the four Ranji Trophy games, missed out because not more than seven players from Bengal could be accommodated in the squad. A strange policy, to say the least.

The pacer, who missed out on a World Cup probables berth by a whisker, was also quite impressive in the recently concluded East Zone one-dayers in Agartala. There, he took six wickets off four games, with an average of 3.9 runs per over.

However, Bengal reject Sumit Panda, who has moved to Bihar this season, has been deemed as an all-rounder and has made it to the squad.

THE squad: Rohan Gavaskar, Deep Dasgupta, Devang Gandhi, Subhomoy Das, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Utpal Chatterjee, Sourashish Lahiri (Bengal), Shiv Sundar Das, Prabhanjan Mullick, Debashish Mohanty, B.B.C.C. Mahapatra (Orissa), Sumit Panda, M. S. Dhoni (Bihar), Zaved Zaman (Assam), S. Chowdhury (Tripura).

Bengal squad named

The Bengal team for the Ranji Trophy match against Mumbai was also selected Tuesday. Arindam Das comes in for Subhradeep Ganguly.

THE SQUAD: Amitava Chakraborty, Deep Dasgupta, Devang Gandhi, Rohan Gavaskar, Subhomoy Das, Sanjeeb Sanyal, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Utpal Chatterjee, Sourashish Lahiri, Ranadeb Bose,Shib Shankar Paul, Murtaza Lodhgar, Arindam Das, Alokendu Lahiri.

Email This Page