The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page

Fort William/ASC up

Calcutta: Fort William Polo Club/ASC were stretched to the distance and had to survive a few close shaves before edging past the strong 61 Cavalry/NDA in the first match of the 10 goals Ezra Cup at the Pat Williamson ground Friday. The final score read 6.5-5 in favour of the Fort William outfit.

Starting the match with a 1.5-goal advantage, the Fort William team increased the lead by another goal in the second chukker. Major Tarsem Singh scored a brilliant goal, covering a distance of about 150 yards on a solo run for FWPC/ASC, but their opponents bounced back in the fourth and final chukker.

61 Cavalry/NDA scored two goals in quick succession to narrow the lead to one and-a-half goals. However, FWPC/ASC held on and won the tie by that margin in the end.

Majumdar new president

Rajat Majumdar is the new president of South Club. The Inspector General of Police, Railways, Friday defeated the clubís stalwart, Jaidip Mukerjea with an overwhelming margin of 67-37 votes.

Also coming in, as secretary of the club, was I.N. Chaturvedi, defeating his nearest rival B. Lahiri 67-36. Majumdar, who was secretary of the club in 1998-99 and is also the president of the Bengal Motor Sports Club, has as his secretary S. Bose, with Akhtar Ali as vice-president.

The executive committee also sees some changes.


B.N. Dhupar, Anwar Ali, B. Nag Chowdhury, Satyajit Barman, Vikrant Swarup.

State squads

Bengal have picked a 12-member squad each for boys and girls to take part in the forthcoming sub-junior national volleyball championships in Dewas (Madhya Pradesh) from Wednesday to December 31.

THE SQUADS: BOYS: Prasenjit Das, Ashis Sinha, Abir Mitra, Sanjay Sarkar, Ayan Mukherjee, Manoj Singh, Rahul Shaw, Raju Kangsa Banik, Manik Manna, Santanu Ghosh, Rupesh Shaw, Kailash Nulia. Coach: Kartik Mukherjee. GIRLS: Piyali Roy, Sunanda Bag, Sangita Basu, Soumitra Talukdar, Arpita Das, Sampa Ghara, Suparna Das, Satarupa Pyne, Pinky Banerjee, Moumita Talukdar, Sangita Das, Kanika Manna. Coach: Swapna Chatterjee.

Kabaddi meet

West Zone shocked title-holders East to emerge the new champions in the menís all-India Ordnance Factory kabaddi meet, held at Bhusal Ordnance Factory ground Friday. West won the final 23-13, though Eastís Nishit Biswas was adjudged the best player of the meet.


ARCHERY: National Vanavasi meet (India round) at SAI Eastern Centre.

EQUESTRIANISM: National and international show jumping events at Tollygunge Club from 8 am.

GOLF: East India amateur meet at RCGC from 8 am.

Email This PagePrint This Page