The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Title for Ahluwalia

New Delhi: Aman Preet Ahluwalia of Delhi is the new National Karting champion. At the newly laid out Pragati Maidan track Sunday, Ahluwalia won the JK Tyre national title, a Maruti Suzuki Alto car and a sponsored place in the National Racing championship of Maruti 800 Formula (FISSME) for all of next season.

Thirty finalists from seven cities had landed here for the grand finals. Following a rather close race in the seniors (above 16 years) class Ahluwalia emerged champion, ahead of Zubin Viccajee of Secundrabad.

Viccajee got a cash prize of Rs 50,000. Ashok Jadhav of Mumbai was second runner-up. He got Rs 25,000.

Even the cadet class (8-12 years) was keenly contested. Five young regional champions fought neck and neck before Parth Ghorpade from Kohlapur became the first-ever cadet class champion. He won a Colt go-kart (the one he drove around the 450m tarmac circuit) so he can hone his skills better.

Brijesh Singh of Mumbai was second and Chittesh Mandody was third.

The junior class (12-16 years) race, though was the most exciting.

Sahil Shehar from Mumbai, who has recorded fastest lap timings, led the field, followed by Akhil Hede from Goa. A few laps into the race, though Sahil went into a spin and Hede took over the lead. That got him the junior title. The champion also got a KnK Genesis kart.

Both the junior and cadet classes were held for the first time this year.

The participants from Calcutta, unfortunately, filed to make an impression.

Email This PagePrint This Page