The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page

Seven-wicket victory for Mohun Bagan

Aided by an unbeaten 161 by Bengal opener Amitava Chakraborty, Mohun Bagan edged out Ballygunge United by seven wickets in a CAB league match Sunday. Sanjiv Goel remained not out on 83.

Summarised Scores

n Ballygunge United 378/7. Mohun Bagan 381/3 (Amitava Chakraborty 161 no, Sanjiv Goel 83, Amitava Banerjee 64). Bagan won by 7 wkts.

n George Telegraph 384/9. YMCA College 274/8 (Sk. Abbas Ali 65, Siddhartha Sinha 45; Priyankar Mukherjee 3/40.) Match drawn.

n City AC 242. Barisha 246/6 (Subhajit Banerjee 53, Subhash Dixit 51). Barisha won by 4 wkts.

n Rajasthan 166. Tollygunge Agragami 170/4 (Arindam Das 43, Kunal Bajpayee 43 n.o.). Tollygunge Agragami won by 4 wkts.

n Tapan Memorial 365/9. BNR 240/8 (Sumantra Chatterjee 97). Match drawn.

n ABPSC 289. Calcutta Rangers 162/7 (Kenneth Sinha 65, Altaf Hassan 3/50, Subhash Mohanty 4/62). Match drawn.

Bengal U-17 win

Sourav Roy’s five for 40 helped the Bengal under-17 team romp to an innings and 49 run victory in the Vijay Merchant trophy match against Bihar at the Eden Gardens Sunday. The visitiors, commencing at 28 for two, were bundled out for 110 in their second innings.

Summarised Scores

n Bihar 184 and 110 (Sourav Roy 5/40). Bengal 348/6 decl. Bengal won by an innings and 49 runs.

Schools’ cricket

St Lawrence High School beat Nava Nalanda by four wickets in the second inter-school cricket tournament organised by the SLOBA cricket coaching centre Sunday.

Chasing 131 for victory in 20 overs, St Lawrence notched up the winning runs with 1.3 overs to spare.

Summarised Scores

n Nava Nalanda 130/7 in 20 overs (Suprathim Goswami 30, Apurba Joshi 3/18). St Lawrence 133/6 in 18.3 overs (Arijit Das 28; Rahul Das 2/21). St Lawrence won by four wickets.

Kanika best

Kanika Advani of Tollygunge Club was adjudged the best child rider while Ajmera of FWRI was named the best sub-junior rider in the world show jumping challenge and national equestrian championship Sunday.

Other Winners

Best Rider Confined: Varun Todi (Tolly Club). Best junior rider: MHC Prabhjot Singh (Punjab Police); Best Rider of the Show: Major S.S. Rathore (61st Cavalry); Children pony event beginners A: Josna (FWRI); Children pony event beginners B: Madul Singh (FWRI); Pony event medium A: Samarpan Basu (FWRI); Pony events medium B: Rawala Rukhanjeet (Tolly Club); Pony event advance A: Kanika Advani (Tolly Club); Pony Events advance B: Sneha Dutta (FWRI); Advance pair events (group I): Gautam Jain & Akshita Bhanjdeo (Tolly Club); Advance pair events (group II): Vikas Chowbey &Arjun Bhowmick (FWRI); Ten pegging team: Sub Joginder Yadav, CHM Sampat Singh, L/Nk P. Basumatri sep Lakshmi Narayan (ASC Centre & College Bangalore); Six bar: Major D. Dhali (2 MP R&V Sqn NCC); FEI show jumping: Maj Sameer Lamba (853 AT Coy ASC); FEI World Showjumping (overall): Dfr/Rdr Mal Chand (RVSC&S).

Email This PagePrint This Page