The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Andhra, Karnataka rule pool

Hyderabad: Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka won two gold medals each out of the six at stake even as five records tumbled in the pool. Kerala and Services won a medal each.

For the hosts Mandar Divse clocked 16:29.69 in the men’s 1500m free style for gold ahead of Rehan Poncha of Karnataka and Kailashnath of Andhra. Divse also erased the record set by J Abhijit in 1997 in 17:05.38.

Completing a double for the hosts, Richa Mishra won the 400m individual medley in 5:09.91. V. Sivaranjani and Shikha Tandon (both Karnataka) won silver and bronze.

Shikha won gold in women’s 50m backstroke in 0:32.18 erasing the mark of 0:33.82 set by Nisha Millet in 1999.

The second gold for Karnataka came in the 4x100m medley relay for men who finished in 4:10.06 ahead of Services and Kerala.

T.K. Senthil Kumar of Kerala bettered his own record in men’s 50m backstroke in 28.61.

Atul Patil of Services logged 413.23 points to win gold ahead of Madan Jawelekar (AP) and B.P. Dighe (Gujarat) in men’s high board.

The athletics events got under way with a new Games record being set in women’s pole vault by Chetna Solanki of Gujarat with a height of 3.35 metres.

Gulab Chand of Andhra Pradesh clinched the men’s 1500m gold while Punjab’s Madhuri Singh won gold in the women’s event.

Punjab also won gold in the men’s javelin, Jagdish Bishnoi emerging a clear winner.

Asian Games gold medallist Anju B. George, of Tamil Nadu, clinched gold in the women’s long jump, leaping 6.59m.

In women’s volleyball, defending champions Tamil Nadu thrashed Maharashtra 25-19, 25-14, 25-23 to storm into the final versus Andhra.

In badminton, Andhra Pradesh’s Neelima Chaudhry and Jwala Gutta set up a title clash in the women’s individual event. Jwala shocked Manjusha Kanwar of Maharashtra 11-4, 11-2 and Neelima beat Trupti Murgunde, also of Maharashtra 8-11, 11-8, 11-3.

Chetan Anand of Andhra Pradesh and Abhinn Shyam Gupta of Uttar Pradesh advanced to the semis of the men’s badminton. Gupta beat Andhra’s K. Srinivasan 15-4, 4-15, 15-6 and Anand beat compatriot S.D.S. Krishna 15-4, 15-12. In two other quarters, Thomas Kurien of Kerala beat J.B.S. Vidyadhar of Andhra 17-14, 15-11 while Andhra’s C.M. Sasidhar beat Kerala’s Rupesh Kumar 5-15, 15-7, 17-14.

In the men’s doubles, Anand and Vidyadhar moved into the semi-finals beating Kerala pair Markos Bristo and Rupesh 10-15 15-9 15-12.

Jaseel P. Ismail and Jaisan Xavier of Kerala also moved to the semis beating Andhra’s B Nagaraj and Vikas Reddy 15-8, 15-6. The hosts’ A. Pridhvi and P. Sunil trounced Maharshtra’s Mangrish Palekar and M. Hazarnish 15-8, 15-9 whileKerala’s V. Diju and Sanava Thomas beat P. Manoj Kumar and Vijay Raghavan 15-3, 15-1.

In tennis, Maharashtra men and Tamil Nadu women romped into the semi-finals of the team events. While the Maharashtra men breezed past Chandigarh 2-0, the Tamil Nadu eves beat Uttar Pradesh, also 2-0. (pti)

Email This PagePrint This Page