The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Samuels, Sarwan star in win

Dhaka: A magnificent third-wicket stand of 146 by Marlon Samuels (82) and Ramnaresh Sarwan (102 not out) and devastating bowling by Vasbert Drakes helped the West Indies beat Bangladesh by 84 runs in the second one-dayer on Monday.

Irresponsible batting saw Bangladesh dismissed for 182 in 48 overs after the visitors scored 266 for four in 50 overs.

Bangladesh started disastrously and lost six wickets before reaching 100 with only Mohammed Ashraful providing any resistance with 44.

Drakes grabbed a career-best four for 18 after he ripped the Bangladeshi top order by grabbing the first three wickets to fall.

Bangladesh captain Khaled Mashud and Naimur Rahman proved some late-order resistance, adding 71 runs off 95 balls in their seventh-wicket stand to help Bangladesh reach their face-saving score. Mashud made 41 before he was bowled by Cameron Cuffy, who finished with two for 33, while Rahman made 37 before he was run out.

Earlier, a magnificent third-wicket stand of 146 by Samuels and Sarwan helped West Indies to their total. Sarwan’s maiden century also took him past 1,000 one-day runs.

WI name Cup squad

The West Indies Monday named a 30-man squad for the World Cup next year, say reports from St John’s. Fast bowler Nixon McLean and batsman Brian Lara have been named in the squad.

McLean has not played since a series in the Carribean against South Africa in 2001, while Lara has been out since he collapsed in Sri Lanka at the Champions Trophy, suffering from what was initially suspected to be hepatitis.

West Indies officials later ruled out hepatitis but refused to say what Lara’s ailment was.

THE Probables

Suleiman Benn, Marlon Black, Ian Bradshaw, Gareth Breese, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore, Cameron Cuffy, Mervyn Dillon, Vasbert Drakes, Daren Ganga, Chris Gayle, Keith Hibbert, Ryan Hinds, Wavell Hinds, Carl Hooper, Ridley Jacobs, Kerry Jeremy, Reon King, Brian Lara, Jermaine Lawson, Neil McGarrell, Nixon McLean, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Daren Powell, Ricardo Powell, Floyd Reifer, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.


Email This PagePrint This Page