The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Nikhil surprise inclusion

Calcutta: The CAB selectors Monday made a surprise choice in Nikhil Haldipur, naming him as possible opener for Bengal’s East Zone one-day engagements, starting Friday (versus Assam), in Agartala.

Nikhil comes in at the cost of the likes of in-form Alokendu Lahiri, who scored a 222 in a recent CAB league tie (for Tollygunge Agragami versus High Court).

Also coming into the 14-man squad was another opener, Aurijit Basu. Amitava Chakraborty, Subhradeep Ganguly and Murtaza Lodhgar were dropped from the 15-man Ranji Trophy squad that won against Railways in Siliguri.

The selection meeting was attended by all four selectors Pronab Roy, Robi Banerjee, Snehashish Ganguly and I.B. Roy besides skipper Rohan Gavaskar and coach Sambaran Banerjee.

Nikhil’s selection ahead of Alokendu did raise quite a few eyebrows. He has been chosen to have more options for the opening slot. “Haldipur has been selected because of his good record as an opener,” CAB joint secretary Bablu Koley explained.

The squad now boasts of three specialist openers, Deep Dasgupta, Moyanko Chakraborty and Aurijit, besides Nikhil. Devang Gandhi and Laxmi Ratan Shukla have also opened the innings in the past.


Rohan Gavaskar, Devang Gandhi, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Subhomoy Das, Nikhil Haldipur, Deep Dasgupta, Sanjib Sanyal, Utpal Chatterjee, Sourashish Lahiri, Ranadeb Bose, Aurijit Basu, Shib Shankar Pal, Anirban Chatterjee, Moyanko Chakraborty.

U-19 squad

Avik Chowdhury will lead the Bengal under-19 squad in the Cooch Behar Trophy pre-quarter final tie against Uttar Pradesh in Bilaspur (Himachal Pradesh) from Saturday.


Avik Chowdhury (captain), Ambar Roy, Sourav Sarkar, Dilip Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Arup Tripathy, Soujan Biswas, Subhajit Banerjee, Aditya Sengupta, Aranya Deb Sarkar, Abhishek Chowdhury, Amit Biswas, Soumya Pal, Mayukh Biswas. Coaches: Udaybhanu Banerjee and Dattatreyo Mukherjee.

Junior meet

Centuries by Aniket Basu and Bazlur Rehman helped Sambaran Banerjee CCC drub Tollygunge CC by 387 runs in the CAB junior (110 points) meet Monday.


Sambaran Banerjee CCC 422/2 in 40 ovs (Aniket Basu 140, Bazlur Rehman 105, Mayukh Das 63). Tollygunge CC 35 (Soumyajit Datta 3/7). Sambaran Banerjee CCC won by 387 runs.

Email This PagePrint This Page