The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Ronaldo, Kahn, Zidane shortlisted

London: Oliver Kahn, Ronaldo and Zinedine Zidane have been shortlisted for the 2002 World Player of the Year award, Fifa said on Monday. Bayern Munich’s German international Kahn is hoping to become the first goalkeeper to claim the honour since its inception in 1991.

Brazilian World Cup-winning striker Ronaldo, and Real Madrid team mate Zidane, of France, have each won the award twice before. The winner will be announced at Fifa’s world player gala in Madrid on December 17.

The women’s World Player of the Year title will also be unveiled in Madrid, with US’ Mia Hamm hoping to recapture the honour she won last year. Germany’s Birgit Prinz and Sun Wen, of China, make up the women’s shortlist.

Kahn will also receive the award for best player of the 2002 World Cup — the Golden Ball — at the December 17 ceremony. Ronaldo will receive the Silver Ball as runner-up and South Korean captain and defender Hong Myung-Bo the Bronze Ball.

Other honours to be bestowed in Madrid are for the most attractive team of the World Cup — won by South Korea — and the fair play award, claimed by Belgium.

Email This PagePrint This Page