The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Subhrajit takes title as Bengal trio moves up

Jalandhar: Subhrajit Saha of Bengal won the 40th National B chess championship Sunday with a draw against International Master Lanka Ravi of PSCB in the final round.

With his fourth draw of the meet, Saha tallied a maximum of ten points.

Neelotpal Das drew his last game against Saptarshi Roy to ensure the fourth position and a place in the National A championships. However, luck ran out for Saptarshi as he finished 13th in the overall standings.

Top seed Sandipan Chanda of PSCB also failed to finish in the top 12, drawing with Satchidanand Soman of CRSB in the last round.

Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury of Bengal finished a lucky eighth as N. Sanjay of Karnataka blundered from a clearly superior position. Roy Chowdhury, however, ensured a third qualifying spot for Bengal with Dibyendu Barua and Surya Sekhar Ganguly already in the elite pack.

IM Sunderrajan Kidambi of Tamil Nadu finished runner-up on 9.5 points having the best progressive tiebreak score amongst a group of 14 players.

He played a quick draw against teammate M.R. Venkatesh who also made the top 12. The third place went to Grandmaster-elect G.B. Prakash of Bank Sports Board.

Players to qualify for National A: Subhrajit Saha (Bengal); Sunderrajan Kidambi (Tamil Nadu); G.B. Prakash (BSB); Neelotpal Das (Bengal); Arvind Shastri (Karnataka); Prathamesh Mokal (Maharashtra); Tejas Bakre (Indian Airlines); Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (Bengal), Lanka Ravi (PSCB), M. R. Venkatesh (Tamil Nadu), S. Satyapragyan (Indian Airlines), Satchidanand Soman (CRSB).

Top final round results:

Subhrajit Saha (10) drew Lanka Ravi (9.5); Tejas Bakre (9.5) drew Prathamesh Mokal (9.5); G.B. Prakash (9.5) drew Arvind Shastri (9.5); Neelotpal Das (9.5) drew Saptarshi Roy (9.5); Sandipan Chanda (8.5) lost to Satchidanand Soman (9.5); Dinesh Kumar Sharma (8.5) lost to Ravi Hegde (9.5); S. Satyapragyan (9.5) bt S. Poobesh Anand (8.5); Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (9.5) bt N. Sanjay (8.5); Vishal Sareen (8) lost to G. Rohit (9.5); D.V. Prasad (8.5) drew V. K. Shukla (8.5); A.K. Medda (8) lost to Nassir Wajih (9); R.P. Sharma (9) bt P. Phoobalan (8); Vikas Sharma (8) lost to Anum Deshmukh (9); Deepan Chakraverthy (9) beat K. Ramu(8); Atanu Lahiri (8) lost to A. Mukherjee (9); Sharad Tilak (8.5) drew Rajesh Agarwal (8.5); Valay Parikh (8) drew R. Bandhopadhyay (8); C.S. Gokhale (8) drew C. J. Arvind (8); Arghyadip Das (8) drew Rahul Shetty (8); B.S. Shivanand (7.5) lost to N.S. Babu (8.5); T.S. Ravi (8.5) bt Abhijeet Gupta (7.5); P. Konguvel (8) drew Rishipal Singh (8); N.K. Mishra (8.5) bt M.S. Rao (7.5); K. Ratnakaran (7.5) lost to Ravi Kumar (8.5). (PTI)

Email This PagePrint This Page