The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page

Ever-Ready edge past FCI

Ever-Ready beat FCI by a solitary goal in the CFL Super Division relegation play-off match Tuesday. Bhabani Mohanty scored the winner. Bhratri Sangha and SAIL were locked in a 1-1 draw in another relegation play-off match at Howrah Stadium.

Bhratri Sangha officials have asked for an explanation from the coach on the allegedly fixed match they played against SAIL Friday. However, they claimed they are yet to hear from the IFA on this issue.

State snooker

Brijesh Damani and Amit Poddar moved into the finals of the Coca-Cola state senior snooker championship being held at Bengal Rowing Club. In the first semi-final, Damani beat Rajesh Tulsiyan 5-2, while Poddar defeated Akram Khan 5-4 in the second.

Bowling title

Emami emerged best in the corporate category at the national bowling championships held in Bangalore recently. The Emami team, comprising Aditya Agarwal and Manish Goenka, beat HTMT Bangalore by 11 pins in the final.

Official dead

Former secretary of the state volleyball association Kartick Chandra Ghosh passed away after a cardiac attack Tuesday. He was 84. Ghosh is survived by two sons.

Hardcourt meet

Top seed Farid Alam beat Rohit Kumar 9-1 in a first-round match in the boys’ under-16 section of the West Coast Paper Calcutta Hardcourt tennis tournament at South Club. Other results Boys under-12: Tayyab Alam bt Jamshed Madan; Soumit Dey bt Akash Maskara; Surya Shankar bt Rahul Jaikishen; Bibaswan Deb bt Atif Ahmed; Karamveer Dhillon bt Amartya Dutta; Rohan Shroff bt Kaushal Goel; Manav Agarwal bt Avilash Pahi; Prem Singh bt Sagnik Basu; Ayush Bajoria bt Dhruv Arora; Tophid Alam bt Iftikar Hussain; Bishnu Pradhan bt Bani Lakhmani; Mohamemd Imran bt Santosh Das; Ranvir Srivastava bt Devankit Sahoo; Omar Abdullah bt Rahul Buddhia; Anant Kanoria bt Sreevardhan Agarwal. Boys under-16: Shoaib Hussain bt Abhigyan Mitra; Viren Pandey bt Pranab Arya; Anoorag Biswas bt Surojit Gupta; Ranjan Prasad bt Kushal Pachishia; Arcopravo Rakshit bt Hitesh Ahuja; Biplab Das bt Manish Shaw; Mohd Akib bt Varun Sukul; Shrey Deb bt Sourav Chowdhury; Nirvick Mohinta bt Goutam Mohan; Sudarshan Kajaria bt Sayan Khamrui; Karan Dhillon bt Sharad Sarkar. Girls under-14: Apoorva Tyagi bt Saima Ali.

Cyber Cup

Bayview Technology C beat Hewlett Packard E in the second Cyber Cup bowling tournament at Nicco Super Bowl. Other results: TCS F bt TCS A, TCS C bt Nicco Internet D, skytech Solutions B bt Skytech Solutions E, Siemens Info System A bt Skytech Solutions A, skytech Solutions D bt Leading edge Technology A, BNK Solutions B bt American Power Conversion, siemens Info System B bt TCS H

Club golf

Two city teams, Royal Calcutta Golf Club and Tollygunge Club, will take part in the inaugural national championship for golf clubs, the McDowell Signature meet, in New Delhi from Saturday.

Over 1700 players from across the country will take part in the seven-day tournament.

Other eminent clubs to have confirmed participation are Bombay Presidency Golf Club, Willingdon Gymkhana, Karnataka Golf Association and Bangalore Golf Club.


SNOOKER: State senior meet final at BRC from 3pm.

TENNIS: Calcutta Hardcourt meet at South Club.

GENERAL: Torch run of Eastern Railway sports persons, from Ghosalpur Railway Colony at 8:30 am.

Email This PagePrint This Page