The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Rhodes rested, pacer Ngam in

Cape Town: Fast bowler Mfuneko Ngam was named on Thursday in South Africa’s 14-man squad to play Bangladesh in the first two of three one-day Internationals next month.

South Africa play Bangladesh in Potchefstrom on October 3 and in Benoni on October 6. The third and final one-day International is in Kimberley on October 9.

Ngam has suffered a series of career-threatening injuries since last appearing for South Africa against Sri Lanka in January 2001. His inclusion in the squad is subject to his fitness after a domestic match against Eastern Province this weekend.

Although he has played three Tests, Ngam has yet to play in a one-day International.

“We are managing Ngam,” convenor of selectors Omar Henry said. “We are monitoring each outing and making sure he does not burn himself out considering all his injury problems. If he comes through the domestic game, we will give him a chance against Bangladesh.”

Henry also said South Africa’s most capped one-day player Jonty Rhodes was being rested to allow him to recover fully from a hand injury and to spend time with his family.

“Jonty has been struggling with a bruised hand since Morocco so we have rested him. We’re happy with him and he’s a family man so rest for him means we get back a good cricketer and a sound mind. He’ll be happy and we’ll be happy,” Henry said.

There was a first-time inclusion in the full South African squad for Northerns batsman Martin van Jaarsveld.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Errol Stewart of Kwazulu-Natal, who played the last of his five one-day Internationals against Australia in 1994, was also included in the 14.

Alan Dawson and Nicky Boje, who both played for South Africa in the Champions Trophy, were not considered because of injury. South Africa lost to India in the semi-final Wednesday night in Colombo.


Shaun Pollock (captain), Mark Boucher (vice-captain), Dale Benkenstein, Boeta Dippenaar, Allan Donald, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Lance Klusener, Mfuneko Ngam, Makhaya Ntini, Justin Ontong, Graeme Smith, Errol Stewart, Martin van Jaarsveld.

Email This PagePrint This Page