The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Sri Lanka may rest top guns

Colombo: In-form Sri Lanka, one of the favourites in the ongoing ICC Champions Trophy, will be seeking to seal their place in the semi-finals when they play minnows Holland in their second pool match in a day-night encounter at the r Premadasa Stadium here Monday.

Skipper Sanath Jayasuriya, who braved a shoulder injury to lead his side to a resounding victory over Pakistan, may not need to stretch himself tomorrow, but no decision has yet been made on whether he will skip the match to give himself more time to recover. In any case, his team may not need for all the big guns to fire against the Dutch.

Jayasuriya is not yet 100 per cent fit, and had to take pain-killers and use ice packs on his shoulder swelling during the opening game against Pakistan which Sri Lanka won by eight wickets.

The semi-final, which Sri Lanka are most certain to play, is only on September 27, and he may find the recess useful. If he chooses to rest, his spot may go to Dilshan Tillekeratne.

“He has a sore shoulder, and a decision on his inclusion in tomorrow’s game has not yet been made,” said team physio Alex Kontouri.

Holland lost a practice game against Kenya Saturday. The Dutch batsmen could post only 169 in their 50 overs, and lost by six wickets to their more experienced non-Test playing rivals.

Holland captain Roland Lefebvre said his team wanted to compete well in the tournament and did not want to be overwhelmed by their superior opposition.

“We know what the opposition is like. It’s very hot here, and it’s going to be tough, but we will do our best,” he said after the team’s practice session.

Lefebvre, a right-handed all-rounder, played two matches in the 1996 World Cup against New Zealand and the United Arab Emirates in Vadodara and Lahore. The 39-year-old also played for Somerset and Glamorgan in the mid-1990's.


Sri Lanka (from): Sanath Jayasuriya (captain), Russel Arnold, Maravan Atapattu, Upul Chandana, Aravinda de Silva, Dilshan Tillekeratne, Dilhara Fernando, Pulasthi Gunaratne, Mahela Jayawardene, Muttiah Muralidharan, Kumar Sangakkara, Chaminda Vaas, Kumara Dharmasena and Hasantha Fernando.

Holland (from): Roland Lefebvre (captain), Daan van Bunge, Jacob-Jan Emeijer, Victor Grandia, Feiko Kloppenburg, Tim de Leede, Henk-Jan Mol, Robert Oosterom, Adeel Raja, Edgar Schiferli, Reinout Scholte, Nick Statham, Luuk van Troost and Bas Zuiderent.

Umpires: Dave Orchard and David Shepherd. Third umpire: Russel Tiffin. Match Referee: G. R. Vishwanath.

Email This PagePrint This Page