The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Choudhary president

Jamshedpur: Former Cricket Association of Jharkhand (CAJ) president and East Singhbhum superintendent of police Amitabh Choudhary was elected as the new Bihar Cricket Association

(BCA) president on Sunday. He defeated fellow IPS officer R.R. Verma, an IG in Patna, by 282 votes. Also elected were former BCA secretary B.N. Singh, who retained his post defeating Rajesh Verma by 66 votes, and Dinesh Upadhyay and T.G. Mukherjee as vice-presidents. R.K. Mallik had already been elected vice-president unopposed from the districts’ quota. Gobindo Mukherjee’s election as treasurer was also uncontested.

Incidentally, the BCA secretary’s post continued to exist even though its term ended last year. CAJ vice-president Udit Sarkar, who withdrew from the fray at the last moment, and Sumit Mukherjee garnered 10 votes each to Singh’s 174.

Speaking after the polls, Choudhary said, “These are difficult times for the BCA. The present management committee will work unitedly to solve existing problems. The new body will automatically get dissolved once the CAJ and BCA (Patna) get BCCI membership.” Of the vice-presidents elected, Upadhyay held the post in the CAJ as well.

Email This PagePrint This Page