The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page

38 probables named for Santosh Trophy

The Bengal selectors Wednesday named 38 probables for the Santosh Trophy in Imphal in October. Coach Subrata Bhattacharya, who was present at the selection committee meeting, later said that he intends to start practice from September 23.

The list includes a handful of youngsters — Amar Deb of Tollygunge Agragami, Priya Kumar of CFC, Anupam Sarkar of Ever-Ready, Ompia of CFC — mostly included at the coach’s suggestion.

With the AIFF introducing a new rule from this season, stipulating players to only play for the state of their origin, the inclusion of these youngsters should come in handy. Many of the outstation players have therefore not been included among the probables. Even Bhaichung Bhutia’s inclusion is subject to Sikkim not participating in the Nationals or not staking the star striker’s claim for their side. THE PROBABLES: Goalkeepers: Rajat Ghosh Dastidar, Sandip Nandy, Prashanta Dora, Amar Deb, Arindam Ghosh. Defenders: Dulal Biswas, Priya Kumar, Anupam Sarkar, Falguni Dutta, Kabijit Khotel, Bidesh Pal, Palash Karmakar, Hussain Mustafi, Debjit Ghosh, Deepak Mondal, Deb Kumar Shashmal, Madhusudhan Majumder, Rabi Karmakar, Anit Ghosh. Midfielders: Mehtab Hossain, Basudeb Mondal, Chandan Das, Sandip Das, Jayanta Sen, Alvito D’Cunha, Sujoy Datta, Shasthi Duley, Kaushik Prasad, Venkatesh. Forwards: Dipendu Biswas, Ompia, Sandip Ghosh, Sunil Chhettri, Bhaichung Bhutia, Laltu Mondal, Pradip Indu, Dulal Patra, Amar Pyne.

Tolly boost

Tollygunge Agragami boosted their ranks on the second day of the inter-club cricket transfers Wednesday. Alokendu Lahiri, Abhijit Ganguly, Srikant Kalyani and Abdul Munayem switched over from East Bengal, Pulak Das and Arindam Das from Wari, Fakiruddin Sajjad from George Telegraph and Rajib Dutta from Tapan Memorial.

Kunal Bajpai and Mohammed Ariz withdrew in favour of Tollygunge.

Kidambi best

Sunder Rajan Kidambi emerged champion on better progressive scores in the WBCA Fide-rated chess meet at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra Wednesday. At the end of the final round, Kidambi and G.B. Prakash were tied on nine points each. Saptarshi Roy (8.5) finished third, ahead of Neelotpal Das (8.5).

On Wednesday, Saptarshi drew with Kidambi, while Prakash and Neelotpal were also held.

Milan Bithee win

Milan Bithee defeated Mohammedan AC 2-1 in CFL first division group A action on Wednesday. T. Das and M. Bhattacharjee struck for Milan Bithee. P. Manoharan reduced the margin for Mohammedan .

Kidderpore and WB Police were locked 1-1. Prashanta Chakraborty scored for Kidderpore and Jayanta Roy for the policemen. Rajasthan held Howrah Union goalless. The CFC-Kalighat tie also ended 0-0.


FOOTBALL: CFL, 1st division group A: Police AC vs Sonali Shibir (Md. Sporting); Railway FC vs BNR (Mohun Bagan); Cal Customs vs City AC (East Bengal). Matches from 3.30 pm.

Email This PagePrint This Page