The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page

Prakash joins Kidambi on top

Grandmaster-elect G.B. Prakash joined Sundarajan Kidambi in the lead with 8.5 points on the penultimate day of the WBCA-organised Fide-rating tournament at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra. While Prakash drew with 16th seed R. K. Mishra, Kidambi managed to hold on to his overnight position despite a defeat to Rahul Shetty in the 10th round.

Close on the leadersí heels were Shetty and Saptarshi with 8 points each. Saptarshi, however, went down to K. Visweswaran.

Wrichik, Pal for Wari

India under-19 wicketkeeper Subhojit Pal will play for Wari AC another season. He will be keeping to the leg-spin of Wrichik Majumdar, who switched from East Bengal on the second day of the CAB transfers. Of the 123 who took transfers Tuesday, Ranabir Nath and Abdul Masood also joined Wari while Mayukh Biswas decided to try his luck at Suburban Club.

Rashbehari ABM champions

Rashbehari ABM emerged the CFL fourth division champions, beating North Entally UTS by a solitary goal in the championship play-off final at YMCA ground Tuesday. Nepal Sinha struck the matchwinner in the 55th minute. Both teams have earned promotion to third division.

Meanwhile, Uttarpara SC stepped closer to a second-division berth when they walloped Central Calcutta SC 5-0 in the third division championship play-off quarter final at High Court ground. R. Roy, N. Ghosh, G. Sharma, D. Paik and S. Mondal scored for the Uttarpara team.

Naihati team emerges best

Nabaday Sab Peyechhir Asar (NSPA) of Naihati emerged best in both men and womenís category of the North 24 Parganas district kho-kho championship, held at Belgharia on Tuesday.

NSPA beat Santi Sangha of Khardah 29-19 in menís section, while they claimed the womenís title beating the same rivals 12-10.

Aquatic meet

Central Calcutta District Sports Association will host an aquatics meet at Vidyasagar Swimming Coaching Centre. While the open meet will be held on Friday and Saturday, the intra-club competition will take place on Wednesday and Thursday.

Inter-college soccer


Chess: WBCA-organised Fide-rating meet: Final round at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra from 12 noon, followed by prize distribution ceremony.

Football: CFL 1st division group A: Kidderpore SC vs WB Police SC (Rabindra Sarobar); ECL SA vs Wari AC (Howrah Stadium); Rajasthan Club vs Howrah Union (Mohun Bagan); Milan Bithee vs Mohammedan AC (East Bengal); CFC vs Kalighat Club (Md. Sporting). 3rd division relegation play-off (1st leg): SAI (East Zone) vs YMSA (High Court, 3.15). Matches from 3.30 pm unless otherwise mentioned.

Football: Inter-college knock-out meet (Quarter final): Chittaranjan College vs Serampore College at C.U. ground from 3.30 pm.

Aquatics: CCDSA-organised meet at Vidyasagar Swimming Coaching Centre.

Email This PagePrint This Page