The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Best 200 by Saraswati

Ludhiana: Saraswati Saha of Bengal became the first Indian to go below the 23-second mark in womenís 200m and set a national record of 22.82 seconds in the Circuit Meet Wednesday.

Saraswati, who represents Railways, erased Rachita Mistryís mark of 23.10 set in Chennai in 2000.

Vinita Tripathi took the second place at 23.51 and Sobha of Andhra Pradesh finished a surprise third at 24.68.

The meet, which is the last chance for athletes to prove themselves before the selection committee picks the squad for the Asian Games, also saw Anil Kumar taking revenge on Sanjay Ghosh in the menís 100m.

Services completed a 1-2 as Anil, who lost to Sanjay in the previous meet in Delhi, won in 10.51 seconds. Sanjay clocked 10.56 seconds to finish second. Anand Menezes of Railways took the third place in 10.61.

In womenís short sprint, V. Jailakshmi of Tamil Nadu won in 11.73 seconds ahead of Anuradha Biswal of Orissa (11.86) and Poonam Tomar of Delhi (11.90).

In the womenís high hurdles, Biswal, who improved her national record to 13.38 seconds in Delhi, won in 13.66. Soma Biswas (Bengal) finished second clocking 13.78 and Poonam Baliappa of Karnataka third in 11.90.

Shakti Singh (Railways) and Bahadur Singh (Police) almost assured their Asian Games berths in the menís shot put with an improved display Wednesday. The Railway man challenged Bahadur with a heave of 19.99m. Bahadur came close but stopped at 19,93 to bag silver.

Email This PagePrint This Page