The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This PagePrint This Page
Joydeep, Tanmoy set up close finish

telegraph chess

Calcutta, Aug. 24: Overnight leaders Joydeep Dutta and Tanmoy Pattanayak retained their positions at the top on 8.5 points each with a swift draw in mere 16 moves in the 10th and penultimate round of The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship at Gorky Sadan.

Thus, the Fide rating Swiss tournament, organised by Alekhine Chess Club and presented by Horlicks, is all set for a photo finish tomorrow. If both Joydeep and Tanmoy win their games in the final round, the champion will be decided by progressive score of the players. Joydeep, though, has an advantage on this account as he is clearly ahead on progressive score.

Joydeep meets Baishakhi Das while Tanmoy Pattanayak meets Souvik Chakraborty in the final round.

Now, three players — Sourav Bose, Baishakhi and Souvik Chakraborty — jointly share the second spot on 8 points. Julien Day’s Sourav, who was in the sole second spot, squandered a clear winning position against Debayan Majumdar of St. James in a French defence. Sourav, playing white, had an overwhelming position against Debayan but allowed the latter to escape with a draw.

Souvik of Narmada High School turned the tables on Saurav Chakraborti despite having an inferior position in the opening.

Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy was held by Anurag Jaiswal of Children’s Seminary in a queen and knight versus queen ending.


Tanmoy Pattanayak (8.5) drew with Joydeep Dutta (8.5); Sourav Bose (8) drew with Debayan Majumdar (7.5); Baisakhi Das (8) beat Himanshu S Sharma (7); Saurav Chakraborti (7) lost to Souvik Chakraborty(8); Suman Basu (7.5) drew with Samput Mallick (7.5); Mary Ann Gomes (7.5) drew with Anurag Jaiswal (7.5); Abinash Das (7.5) drew with Indradeep Giri (7); Debaditta S. Biswas (7.5) beat Swayams Mishra (6.5); Suchandra Chatterjee (7.5) beat Supriya Maji(6.5); Ankan Modak (6.5) lost to Rajib Dhar (7.5); Kh. Sanjoy Singh (7) beat Sandipan Chatterjee (6); Soumya Thakurta (7) beat Aniruddha Menon (6); Antarip Roy (6) lost to Trailokya Nanda (7); Minahazuddin A. Sagar (7) beat Thampsan Sahoo (6); Sumit Shaw (6) lost to A. Jibanand Singh (7); Bitan Banerjee (6) lost to Manish Sharma (7); Kiran Monisha Mohanty (7) beat Arindam Das (6); Satish Kumar (7) got a walk over against Souparno Ghosh (6); Soumya Talukdar (6) lost to Ritam Bhaumik (7); N.T. Rama Rao (6.5) drew with Rohan Shah (6.5); Sankar Majumdar (6.5) drew with Abhratanu Dutta (6.5); Shamima Akter Liza (7) beat Anirban Kar (6); Priya Ratnam (6.5) drew with Diptanu Das (6.5); Anu Gupta (5.5) lost to Amritesh Ray (6.5); Tathagata Das (6) drew with A. Debanand Singh (6); Indranil Chattopadhyay (6.5) beat Kishoara S. Evana (5.5); Varun Jain (6.5) beat Ganesh Kisku (VC) (5.5); Payel Guha (5.5) lost to Arpan Sarkar (Sr.) (6.5); Sriya Bhattacharya (6) drew with Mohana Sengupta (6); Mahfuzur Rahman (6.5) beat Siddhartha Das (5.5); Parag Honny (6) drew with Arijit Sinha (6); Souvick Barick (5.5) lost to Antaratara Ghosh (6.5); Abhradeep Sil (5.5) lost to L. Shakespear (6.5).

Email This PagePrint This Page