YCO 2022

IIHM declares finalists for International Young Chef Olympiad 2022

Subhadrika Sen
Subhadrika Sen
Posted on 02 Feb 2022
19:25 PM
Suborno Bose, founder and chief mentor of IIHM and Indismart Group, during the announcement of results of YCO 2022 Grand Finale and Plate Trophy qualifiers.

Suborno Bose, founder and chief mentor of IIHM and Indismart Group, during the announcement of results of YCO 2022 Grand Finale and Plate Trophy qualifiers. Source: YouTube

Ten mentor- student teams make it to the Grand Finale
Contestants placed in the 11th to 20th positions will fight it out for the Plate Trophy

The top 10 finalists of the 8th International Young Chef Olympiad (YCO) presented by the International Institute of Hotel Management (IIHM) have been declared.

Young chefs from over 40 countries crossed ladles on January 31 and February 1 to make it to the grand finale. Contestants placed in the 11th to 20th positions were also named and will fight it out for the Plate Trophy.

The next round of the culinary battle will be held on February 3 and 4. The winners will be awarded cash prizes and digital certificates. The results will be announced on February 5.


“The spirit of the Olympiad is definitely one of giving your best and that is what everyone has done. It’s a technology Olympiad. Apart from the culinary angle, the entire virtual Olympiad has been conducted in a way to ensure transparency that everything is transparent. The social and digital team have done well. They have brought the world together through technology,” said Suborno Bose, founder and chief mentor of IIHM and the Indismart Group.

In keeping with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, the teams reinvented, innovated, added creative touches and brought sustainability on the platter through the preliminary round of the competition.

The results were declared in the presence of David Foskett, MBE, chairperson of the jury, and Ron Scott, chief adjudicator, YCO.

Grand Finale Qualifiers

Of the 40-plus countries that took part in the Olympiad, the mentor-student Grand Finale qualifiers are as follows:

Henri Donneaux and Bachvarova of HRC Culinary Academy, Bulgaria; Christopher Basten and Joe Slater of Westminster Kingsway College, England; Anagnostopoulos Viktor-Georgios and Kelidis Alexandros of LE MONDE Institute of Hotel and Tourism Studies, Greece; Aegir Fridriksson and Hallador Haflidason of Hospitality and Culinary School of Iceland; Hosein Bahrami and Mohammadreza Ashemieshghpour of Paniz Mehran Iranian Culinary Academy, Iran; Gianluca Masullo and Matteo Cignetti of Docente Technico Pratico- Ecole Hoteliere de la Vallee d’Aoste, Italy; Surya Mahat and Ajay Pun of Academy of Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management, Nepal; Scott Campbell and Sian Letitia Davis of Wellington Institute of Technology, New Zealand; Dylan Low and Chong Jia de of At-sunrice Global Chef Academy, Singapore; and Shaun Leonard and Donovo Aaron Tan of Business and Hotel Management School, Switzerland.

Plate Trophy Qualifiers

The Plate Trophy qualifiers from among the 40+ teams on board this year is as follows. Arbi Gharakhani and Gayane Simoyan from Centre D’Enseignement Professionnel Franco-Armenien, Armenia; Tremaine Reece and Dejuan Toppin from Barbados Community College, Hospitality Institute, Barbados; Fintan Flynn and Mya Hilts from Canadore College, Canada; Raihan Adam and Feodora Marvella from Bandung Institute of Tourism, Indonesia; Clement Dcruze and Sourav Valentine Gomes from IIHM, India; Aldo Omar Morales and Nicole Elliot from Gastronomy School of Anahuac University, Mexico; Terence Jenkinson and Willem Johannes Van Zyl from Silverspoon Hospitality Academy, Namibia; Jacob Salvador Fernandes and Nicholas Merchan Zapata of Escola Superior d’Hostaleria de Barcelona, Spain; Muzaffer Mutlu and Ceren Kaya of Turkish Culinary Academy, Turkey; and Eric Couturier and Taran Moss of Cardiff and Vale College, Wales.

Last updated on 02 Feb 2022
19:32 PM
Read Next