Common University Entrance Test (CUET)

Meghalaya and Nagaland exempted from Common University Entrance Test for 2024-25 academic session

Umanand Jaiswal
Umanand Jaiswal
Posted on 30 May 2024
09:50 AM
Representational image

Representational image File picture


Meghalaya and Nagaland have been exempted from the Common University Entrance Test (CUET) for the 2024-25 academic session.

Meghalaya chief minister Conrad K. Sangma took to X to announce the decision by uploading the University Grants Commission letter allowing admission to affiliated colleges under Central universities — NEHU (Meghalaya) and Nagaland University (Nagaland) “as per prevailing practice by giving exemption from CUET for the academic year 2024-25”.

The education ministry had requested the UGC for “special consideration” for the two states vis a vis CUET.


Conrad’s post on X said: “Happy to inform our students that admissions to affiliated colleges to Central University’s in Meghalaya have been exempted from CUET
for this academic year. I thank @dpradhanbjp ji for his continuous support
and understanding”.

Introduced in 2022, the CUET is held for admission to different programmes of the participating central universities. It provides a single window opportunity for the students to seek admission to the participating universities/institute(s) across the country. The National Testing Agency (NTA) conducts the admission exam.

The decision follows the chaos that marked the chaos during the test at the North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU), Shillong, on May 15.

There was a “delay” of over two hours for holding the English paper because the mandatory biometric registration was “not” working.

Last updated on 30 May 2024
09:51 AM
Read Next