IIT Kanpur introduces Professor R.N. Biswas Chair in Teaching Excellence

Our Correspondent
Our Correspondent
Posted on 23 Nov 2021
13:32 PM
The virtual launch was held with faculty members and alumni.

The virtual launch was held with faculty members and alumni. Twitter

The Chair will be awarded to faculty members for their exemplary contribution towards undergraduate teaching
The Chair is named after R.N. Biswas who is a respectable former professor at IIT Kanpur

The Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur virtually launched the Prof. R.N. Biswas Chair, named after the respectable professor of the institute, in Teaching Excellence on November 21.

The chair will be awarded to the faculty members who show exemplary contribution towards undergraduate teaching.

In the virtual launch ceremony. Biswas was present with other members of IIT Kanpur, including S. Ganesh, deputy director of IIT Kanpur, Jayant Kumar Singh, dean of resources and alumni, Debasis Kundu dean of faculty affairs, Kapil Kaul, CEO, IITKDF. Other alumni of IIT Kanpur joined from various countries.


R. N. Biswas, born in 1939 and completed his Bachelor of Science (BSc) with Physics Honours in 1957 from Presidency College, then under University of Calcutta. Then he joined the Institute of Radio physics and Electronics and completed his Master of Science (MSc). Biswas then joined the University of California at Berkeley and gained a doctorate in Electronic Circuits in 1966 .

Biswas is popular for his exemplary teaching. He has about 40 years experience in teaching and research in Telecommunication systems, Electronic circuits, Communication Networks and Microprocessor Architecture and Systems. Biswas believed in overall learning and was behind the establishment of several student laboratories in the Department of Electrical Engineering.

The Chair will be rewarded and give recognition to the distinguished and popular faculty members who have made an impact on the students with years of dedication, teaching and mentoring.

A fellowship is also offered at IIT Kanpur named after the professor. The Fellowship acknowledges young faculty members under the age of 40 years, who have excellent contribution as teachers at a very early age. It also promotes their effort in inventing new methods and pedagogical approaches in teaching.

Last updated on 23 Nov 2021
13:32 PM
Read Next