Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

Promise of power in every village

Read more below

  • Published 29.01.08

Raiganj, Jan. 29: All villages in the country will be electrified by December 2009, Union power minister Sushil Kumar Shinde said here today.

Shinde also announced that BPL people in every village would get free electricity connection under the Rajiv Gandhi Gramin Vidyutikaran Yojna, a central scheme. Today, the minister inaugurated a unit under the scheme at Goalpokhor, 100km from here.

North Dinajpur has been chosen as the first district in north Bengal where the scheme is being implemented. National Thermal Power Corporation will execute the work. Under the project, one 33/11kv power substation and one transformer would be installed in each block and village of the district respectively.

More than 2.18 lakh people in 1,342 villages in North Dinajpur will benefit from the scheme for which Rs 144 crore has been sanctioned, Shinde said.

Union information and broadcasting minister Priya Ranjan Das Munshi, who is also the MP from Raiganj, later told reporters that people living in the hills get 119 units free electricity under the scheme.

“The government is considering a proposal to extend the facility to the minority communities and backward classes,” the minister said.

Das Munshi claimed that he had sanctioned Rs 5 crore from his local area development fund to the North Dinajpur zilla parishad for the project. “But the CPM had been picking up villages for this work by judging the political colour of their residents.”

The Raiganj MP was also critical of the way the CPM had been “fudging rural electrification data”.