When winners take it all

Women weightlifters of the state earned six gold medals at the recent Senior National Weightlifting Championship, while the hockey team of Western Railway, Mumbai, bagged the Championship Trophy by defeating Rail Coach Factory, Kapurthala

By Ringside view
  • Published 18.03.15
Football frenzy
Chand Club, Cuttack defeated Odisha Police in the final of the one-day football tournament held at Pyarimohan Academy School ground in Cuttack on Sunday. The tournament was organised by Barabati Sporting Club. The participants included Odisha Police, Azad Hind Club, Jay Durga Club, AG Odisha, Maa Mangala Club, Chand Club, Yazdani Club-73 and Bidanasi Club. The champion team received Rs 10,000. Odisha Olympic Association secretary Asirbad Behera gave away the prizes.
The All-India Football Federation is planning to conduct a grassroots football-coaching course exclusively for girls in Cuttack. This is for the first time the federation will be conducting the course anywhere in India in order to nurture and develop women's football in the country, said Sanjay Behera, secretary of Football Association of Odisha. The course will be held from April 10 to 12 and it would be free, said Behera.

Cricket contest

Bhubaneswar A regained the Kalahandi Cup in the Senior Inter-District Cricket Tournament, after a gap of four years. They outplayed Bhubaneswar B by nine wickets on the last day of the four-day final at the Nimpur ground. Resuming their second innings at the overnight score of 35 for no loss and needing another 165 runs for victory, Bhubaneswar A rode on Mishra's unbeaten 110 and his 186-run partnership for the opening wicket with Santosh Debkant, who scored 80, to reach the target in 48.2 overs.

 The victory assumed importance since Bhubaneswar A lifted the silverware even after conceding a slender one-run lead in the first innings. The champion team received a cash prize of Rs 20,000, while the losing finalists were given Rs 15,000. Odisha Cricket Association treasurer Satya Mohanty handed over the trophy at the presentation ceremony.

Balasore, Dhenkanal, Kendrapara, Khurda and KIIT emerged toppers in respective preliminary groups with two wins each and have advanced to the super league of the Odisha Cricket Association Inter-District Women's Cricket Tournament, which is being held at different venues in and around Cuttack.

Chess time

The fifth edition of the Open Inter School Chess Championship 2015 was organised by the DAV Public School, Kalinga Nagar on Saturday and Sunday. Seventy-nine budding chess players, some even from distant from Mumbai participated in the event from 15 schools. Besides prizes for the top 15 rank holders of the two-day long event, there were 20 special prizes under various age groups. Swapnil Priyadarshi of St Joseph’s High School emerged the champion by scoring eight points. Bipin Kumar Sahoo, the principal of the host school gave away the prizes to the winners on Monday. While A. Ravishankar co-ordinated the event, Debashish Panigrahi was made the chief arbiter.

Weightlifting wows

Odia eves fared exceedingly well at the recently held Senior National Weightlifting Championship. They grabbed as many as seven medals at the event hosted in Jaipur. And the best part is the fact that six out of the seven medals were gold, along with one bronze medal. Officials of the Odisha Weightlifting Association said Pramila Kirsani claimed all the three gold medals in the Women's 53kg category, lifting 77kg in snatch, 100kg in clean and jerk for a total of 177kg. Odia girl Minati Sethi also secured three gold medals in the 58kg category, but she was representing Indian Railways. She lifted 83kg in snatch, 112kg in clean and jerk and 195kg in total. Swarupa Purty claimed the only bronze medal in Women’s 58kg snatch with an effort of 80kg.

Hockey high

Western Railway, Mumbai bagged the Championship Trophy by defeating Rail Coach Factory, Kapurthala 2-0 at the finals of the 73rd All India Railway Hockey Championship held at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar recently. 
Governor S. C. Jamir handed over the Championship Trophy to the winners and runners-up teams in presence of Rajiv Vishnoi, the general manager of East Coast Railway. Jamir also congratulated the players of both the teams for their outstanding performance in the finals. Earlier, Central Railway, Mumbai defeated South Central Railway, Secunderabad 6-3 in the hardliners match (for 3rd and 4th position). Malak Singh of Western Railway was adjudged the player of the tournament for scoring the highest number of goals.

Namita Panda