Sambalpur gets new SP

The state government today effected a major reshuffle of IPS officers in the state.

By Our Correspondent in Bhubaneshwar
  • Published 22.06.17
Baijayant Panda

Bhubaneswar, June 21: The state government today effected a major reshuffle of IPS officers in the state.

While Akhileshvar Singh replaced Sanjeev Arora as the deputy commissioner of police in Cuttack, Arora has been appointed the superintendent of police (SP) of Sambalpur.

This shake up came following the ministry reshuffle effected last month by chief minister Naveen Patnaik on completion of three years in office in his fourth term.

Charan Singh Meena, has been posted as Jajpur SP.

The post was lying vacant after Anup Sahoo was transferred to Bhadrak in April in the wake of communal tension in the district.

However, Puri SP Sarthak Sarangi and deputy commissioner of police, Bhubaneswar, Satyabrata Bhoi remained unchanged.

The state government today reshuffled 31 IPS officers and one Odisha Police Service (OPS) officer. While, Anirudh Kumar Singh was transferred to Mayurbhanj, Umashankar Dash has been posted as the new SP, Rourkela.

Prakash R and Brijesh Kumar Rai will take over as SPs of Jharsuguda and Angul, respectively.

Mitrabhanu Mahapatra has been transferred to Kandhamal while Jagmohan Meena will join in his place at Malkangiri.

Kanwar Vishal Singh will be the new SP of Koraput and Ashis Kumar Singh has been appointed as the new SP of Nayagarh.

K. Siva Subramani has been transferred to Balangir, Pinak Mishra will be the new SP of Sundargarh.

Battula Gangadhar will be the Deogarh SP while Sudhansu Sekhar Mishra has been appointed as SP Boudh.

Anupama James, currently working as sub-divisional police officer of Boudh, has been posted as DCP (headquarters) of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar police.