Highs and lows  

Ringside view

  • Published 25.01.17

Hockey judges    

Nishan Jyoti Mohanty and Biswaranjan Sarangi have been appointed as judges for the ongoing Hockey India League. The tournament will be held at Bhubaneswar, Delhi, Ranchi, Lucknow and Mumbai from January 21 to February 26. 


The Prabir Kumar Das Memorial All Odisha Open Chess Championship concluded on January 23. Vaibhav Mishra from Puri clinched the winning title. About 71 players, including 40 rated ones, from 10 districts, took part in the championship that was played in nine rounds. Mishra finished with 8 points followed by Rajendra Kumar Sahu of Khurda with 7.5 points and Lochan Kumar Das of Puri with 7 points.


Odisha cueist Ashutosh Padhy has emerged as the junior snooker champion in Indian National Billiards and Snooker Championship held at PYC Hindu Gymkhana in Pune recently. The Bhubaneswar youth won seven matches in a row to capture his second junior national snooker title after the 2014 championship. 

New feat

Hockey player Rajan Ekka from Gangpur added another feather to his cap. Ekka has been nominated by National Council for Sports and Youth Department to officiate All India Interschool Hockey Championship (U-14) at Pune to be held from January 28 to February 1. He has represented the state in various national-level matches. 

Strength show 

A four-member team from Odisha has been selected for National Bodybuilding Championship to be held at Indore on February 18 and 19. The players include Subham Mishra of Bhubaneswar who will take part in the junior category and Santosh Bisoi of Bargarh who will be in fray for the masters’ category. Samar Biswas and Kuna Sahu, from Ganjam, have been selected for the masters’ and physically-challenged segments, respectively. They were selected from state-level trials held at Utkal Karate School. 

Rugby league

The Federation Cup Senior Men's and Women's Rugby 7s Championships will be held at Biju Patnaik Sports Complex in Utkal University on January 28 and 29. The men's teams include Odisha, Haryana, West Bengal, Maharasthra, New Delhi, Tamil Nadu and CRPF while the women's teams include Odisha, Maharashtra, West Bengal, New Delhi, Kerala, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand.

Teams out

Hockey Odisha and Hockey Gangpur teams crashed out of the quarterfinals in the 7th Hockey India Sun-Junior Women National Championship in Tamil Nadu. The teams lost to Hockey Chandigarh and Hockey Jharkhand, respectively. The teams had reached the quarterfinals by winning against all four of their respective group league matches.

Delhi University wins

The 10th All India KIIT T-20 Day and Night Premier League Cricket Tournament concluded on January 22. Delhi University won the trophy for the sixth time in a row. The final match was played between Delhi University and Al-Falah University. Shubham Dahia of Delhi University was declared man of the series. JNT University secured the third position while KIIT University secured fourth place. In the closing ceremony, former cricketer Nayan Mongia distributed the prizes.