Shiroy claim crown


By Our Sports Correspondent in Imphal
  • Published 22.01.16
The Shiroy polo team with the trophy at Mapal Kangjeibung in Imphal on Thursday. Telegraph picture


Imphal, Jan. 21: Shiroy polo team claimed the champion's title of the first Statehood Day Women Polo Tournament, defeating United States Polo Association by 6-5 goals at Mapal Kangjeibung today.

Skipper JulianSmith led Shiroy from the front as she struck all the six goals. She met great challenge from another US player Tiamo Hudspeth but her effort went in vain.

Shiroy got off to a brilliant start with Smith smacking home three goals in the first chukker. However, Tiamo chipped in her team's first goal to trail 1-3.

Shiroy dazzled in the second chukker with Smith, ably helped by fellow riders, pushing home two more goals to post 5-1 goals as USPA failed to consolidate their score.

Continuing their momentum, Shiroy made scoring look easy with Smith hammering in her sixth goal for a mammoth 6-1 lead. But USPA jumped back to gain lost ground, with N. Ashakiran and Tiamo striking home a goal each to make it 3-6 in the third chukker.

Pressing hard in the fourth chukker, USPA riders managed to keep their rivals at bay with Taimo and Ashakiran scoring a goal each to make it 5-6 goals but time ran out for them and they had to settle for the runners-up title.

Shiroy galloped with Rs 25,000 along with champion's title while USPA had to be content with Rs 15,000. The Best Pony title was awarded to Ladaba owned by S. Girimohan.

Manipur chief minister O. Ibobi Singh, along with deputy chief minister Gaikhangam and Edward J. Armstrong of USPA International Committee Huntree Adventure graced the closing ceremony. Women teams from Manipur and United States Polo Association will play an exhibition India-USA polo match in Jaipur at Maharaj Sawai Bhawani Singh Polo ground on January 24.

Cricket: Model Club (A) registered a massive 10-wicket victory over DSU Kwakeithel in the fourth Manipur Veteran T20 Cricket Tournament, 2015-16, at Langthabal cricket ground here today.

Kwakeithel posted 95 runs for 10 wickets in 17 overs.

In reply, Model batsman Suresh Singh hit an unbeaten 51 runs off 40 balls to reach the target of 96 in 11.2 overs. He was adjudged the Man of the Match.

Football: Nongmeikapam Gopal College beat Biramangol College Sowombung by a solitary goal to emerge winner of the A. Borchand Singh Memorial Manipur University Inter-College Women's Football Tournament, 2015-16, played at Manipur University, Canchipur. L. Madhabi Devi scored the winning goal in the 11th minute.