Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

Repoll peaceful in Dhubri, Kokrajhar

The alleged mismanagement of the presiding officers necessitated the repoll in these 7 booths under the 2 seats

By Tejesh Tripathy in Chirang
  • Published 7.05.19, 12:44 AM
  • Updated 7.05.19, 12:44 AM
  • a min read
Voters wait outside a polling stations at Borpathar under Kokrajhar Lok Sabha seat. Picture by Tejesh Tripathy

Repoll at seven booths in Assam’s Kokrajhar and Dhubri parliamentary constituencies were held peacefully on Monday.

Repolling was conducted in two stations in Borpathar area of Bijni Assembly segment under Kokrajhar Lok Sabha seat and in five polling stations under Dhubri Lok Sabha seat.

Monday’s polling started at 7am in all the seven booths and recorded 85.83 per cent and 85 per cent voting in Dhubri and Kokrajhar seats respectively till 5pm.

The alleged mismanagement of the presiding officers who failed to complete the mock poll process and used voter slips as identity documents during the third and last phases of the elections in the state on April 23 necessitated the repoll in these seven booths under the two seats.

At Borpathar, most of the voters had cast their votes in favour of the candidate seeking “peace” and “protection”, said Maheneswar Ray, 64, a member of the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC).

“Considering the peaceful situation prevailing under BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary in the area, the people of Borpathar village are standing with us,” Bijni legislator Kamalsing Narzary said.

A good number of voters, who are working outside the state, had to miss the repoll as they had gone back after the April 23 poll, Nurul Molla, a lawyer in Dhubri, said.

“Of the total voters in Dhubri Lok Sabha seat, 70 per cent are Muslim voters, hence the fate of the candidates in the seat will be decided by them,” Molla said and added All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) candidate and sitting MP, Badruddin Ajmal, is likely to win the support of the voters this time as well.

The two polling stations in Kokrajhar seat comprise 1,183 voters and the five polling stations in Dhubri seat include over 5,000 voters in the re-poll.

In Kokrajhar seat, the contest is likely to be between the United People’s Party Liberal nominee Urkhao Gwra Brahma and Independent candidate Naba Kumar Sarania, who is also the sitting MP.

Dhubri seat is likely to see a triangular fight between Ajmal, Congress candidate Abu Taher Bepari and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) candidate Zabed Islam.

  • Additional reporting by Mukesh Kumar Singh in Dhubri