Nominations found valid

(Top) Winnerson D. Sangma, accompanied by Zenith Sangma, and (above) Donkupar Roy submit nomination papers on Thursday. Pictures by UB Photos

Shillong: The nominations of candidates from both the Treasury and Opposition benches for the Assembly Speaker's election were found valid here on Thursday.

The ruling MDA coalition has fielded longest serving legislator from Shella and former chief minister Donkupar Roy while the Opposition Congress supported the candidature of two-time Congress MLA from Salmanpara, Winnerson D. Sangma.

"During scrutiny of nominations at the old Assembly secretariat, the nominations of both the candidates were found valid," Assembly commissioner and secretary Andrew Simons said.

The candidature of Roy was proposed by legislators from the ruling side, including home minister James K. Sangma, PHE minister Samlin Malngiang, sports minister Banteidor Lyngdoh, social welfare minister Kyrmen Shylla and seconded by general administration department minister Comingone Ymbon, tourism minister Metbah Lyngdoh, health minister A.L. Hek and education minister Lahkmen Rymbui.

The candidature of Winnerson was proposed by Congress Legislature Party spokesperson Zenith Sangma and P.T. Sawkmie, seconded by former Speaker Charles Pyngrope.

Roy was first elected from Shella in 1988 as an Independent and retained the seat in this year's Assembly elections for the seventh consecutive time. Winnerson was elected for the second time from Salmanpara.

The lone Khun Hynñiewtrep National Awakening Movement MLA, Adelbert Nongrum, and another Independent, S.K. Sun, are yet to declare their support for either candidate. The special session of the 10th Meghalaya Assembly that began on Wednesday with the swearing in of newly elected members will resume on March 12 for the election of the Speaker.

The MDA coalition will also move a vote of confidence in the House the same day after the election of Speaker.

Newly sworn-in chief minister Conrad K. Sangma will move the vote of confidence in the House. Conrad, who is the current Lok Sabha MP from Tura, will have to get elected as member of the Assembly within six months to continue as chief minister.


Back to top icon