Nominations filed for Nagaland bypoll

Dimapur: Consensus candidate of the ruling People's Democratic Alliance (PDA) led by the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), Tokheho Yepthomi and Opposition Naga People's Front (NPF) candidate C. Apok Jamir on Thursday filed their nomination papers for the May 28 byelection to the lone Lok Sabha seat at the Nagaland commissioner's office in Kohima.

The commissioner, Motsuthung Patton, who is also the returning officer for the bypoll, assisted by additional deputy commissioner (headquarters) and assistant returning officerLimanenla, examined the necessary documents furnished by the candidates. J. Ravi Shankar observed the filing proceedings. NPF candidate Jamir lost the February 2018 election from Mokokchung town Assembly constituency to NDPP candidate and present minister for urban development and municipal affairs Metsubo Jamir while NDPP candidate Tokheho Yepthomi was defeated in Dimapur-III constituency by NPF candidate Azheto Zhimomi.

The Congress has decided not to contest the bypoll. In a pressrelease on Wednesday, the Congress said it cannot support any political party that is aligned with the BJP in one way or the other. It further said the Pradesh Congress executive committee will meet shortly to review the situation and issue necessary directives to party workers at all levels on the next course of action.

Though the Janata Dal (United) had said it will contest the byelection with the same manifesto that was released during the Nagaland Assemblypolls, it did not field any candidate.

The lone Lok Sabha seat fell vacant after Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio resigned in February to contest the Assembly election on an NDPP ticket. Rio won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha election on an NPF ticket.

Bike rally: The 28 Assam Rifles, under the command of Col Hiren Borah, organised a function to welcome the participants of Assam Rifles Motor Cycle Rally in Wokha on Thursday. The 17-member bikers' team was led by Maj. Abhinav Sudan of 28 Assam Rifles.


Back to top icon