Mizoram CM, ministers file nominations

Campaign picks up for Nov 28 poll

By Henry L. Khojol in Aizawl
  • Published 9.11.18, 1:02 AM
  • Updated 9.11.18, 1:02 AM
  • a min read
Mizoram chief minister Lal Thanhawla files his nomination at Champhai on Thursday. Picture by Henry L. Khojol

Mizoram chief minister Lal Thanhawla and a host of Congress ministers and other party candidates filed their nominations for the November 28 Assembly polls on Thursday, just a day ahead of the Friday deadline.

Mizoram has 40 Assembly seats, of which, the ruling Congress had won 34 in the 2013 polls.

State Congress president Lal Thanhawla filed nomination for Serchhip and Champhai South on Thursday, Congress spokesperson Lallianchhunga said.

While in Champhai the chief minister filed his nomination in person, in Serchhip he filed it through his political agent, Lallianchhunga added.

Lal Thanhawla has successfully contested the Assembly elections eight times — in 1978, 1979, 1984, 1987, 1993, 2003, 2008 and 2013. He has been the chief minister of Mizoram since 2008.

He was the chief minister from 1984 to 1986 and from 1989 to 1998. In the 2013 Assembly elections, the 80-year-old Congress leader successfully contested from his home turf Serchhip and Hrangturzo.

Among the Congress ministers who filed nomination on Thursday are health minister Lal Thanzara, sports minister Zodintluanga, education minister H. Rohluna, social welfare minister P.C. Lalthanliana, animal husbandry and veterinary minister C. Ngunlianchunga, agriculture minister K.S. Thanga and the lone woman minister, Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu.

Apart from them, 10 other Congress candidates — H. Liansailova, P.C Laltlansanga, Lalmalsawma Nghaka, C. Lalhlimpuia, T.T. Zothansanga, T. Sangkunga, James Thanghmingmawia, Joseph L. Ralte, Lalhmachhuana and Ngurdingliana — also filed their nominations before the returning officers of their respective constituencies.

According to Lallianchhunga, at least 24 Congress candidates have filed nominations till Thursday.

The Congress will contest in all the 40 seats and field two candidates belonging to the Chakma community.

While Congress MLA Nihar Kanti Chakma will contest from West Tuipui constituency, former chief executive member of the Chakma Autonomous District Council Kali Kumar Tongchongya has been fielded in the Chakma-dominated Tuichawng constituency, a source said.

Ten Mizo National Front (MNF) candidates, including former education minister R. Lalthangliana, also filed their nominations on Thursday.

The MNF will contest all the seats. According to MNF leader Zodinsanga, 33 candidates have so far filed nominations till Thursday.

Former Sinlung Hills Development Council (SHDC) chairman Hmingchungnunga has also filed nomination on the National People’s Party’s ticket in Serlui on Thursday.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 14.