The Telegraph
Friday, December 15, 2017

Lifetime award for writer

First published on 08-Dec-2017

Guwahati: The Jeewan Ram Mungi Devi Goenka (JRMDG) Memorial Public Charitable Trust will confer Lifetime Achievement Award 2017 on writer Arun Sarma (posthumously), actress Bidya Rao, actor-cum-writer Dilip Kr Hazarika, singer Archana Mahanta and art director Phatik Barua at ITA Machkhowa on Sunday evening.

The 11th JRMDG Memorial Annual Lecture will be delivered by chairman of the Royal Global Group of Institutions Ashok Pansari on life and work of Jyotiprasad Agarwala.

Governor Jagdish Mukhi will be present as the chief guest and veteran journalist D.N. Bezborua as guest of honour.

Tributes will be paid to late actors Abdul Mazid and Biju Phukan. Entrepreneur M.D. Khetan and film director Sanjib Sabhapandit, among others, will also be felicitated.

The Trust has been conferring awards on persons in the field of artand culture. It has so far published Jyotiprasad Agarwala and Heritage Shillong written by late Dipankar Banerjee.

It is currently making an album A Tribute to Dr Bhupen Hazarika containing 14 immortal songs of the singer. The songsare preserved by a few sound archives in the US and Europe.

The Trust published anthologies on Asam Sahitya Sabha in English and Assamese in 2012.

 More stories in North East

  • Aquatic life in danger: Scientist
  • World fora plea by Assam
  • Kamrup directive on water
  • Youth leader dies
  • CBI probes Tezpur post office scam
  • Pre-planned murder whiff
  • Northeast charms Mumbai youths
  • Cold storage for orange growers
  • Tripura govt bid to save teacher jobs
  • Fifa honour for Manipur referee
  • Skeleton in Majuli paddy field
  • Tractor aid to boost agriculture income
  • Biotech hubs open
  • Meghalaya Assembly session from today
  • Cops foil council's hunger strike
  • No leads in missing trader case
  • Lawmakers appeal for solution
  • Plea to seize arms in BTAD
  • NRC enrol row in Goalpara village
  • Ex-MLA served notice
  • Tour operators get a glimpse of Assam
  • Protest over Amchang decision
  • Call for solution before polls
  • Row over NRC entries
  • Unions encourage employees
  • Assam girl eyes crowns
  • Call for probe into Akon role
  • Ex-DGP name crops up in scribe murder