10 injured in Tripura clash

Agartala: Ten persons, including two policemen, were injured in a clash between the ruling CPM and BJP poll ally Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) at Takarjala Assembly constituency in Tripura on Friday.

The clashes started after a group of IPFT supporters allegedly attacked a CPM convoy campaigning at Brahmabari, 28km from here, in West Tripura district.

Superintendent of police (control) Pradip De told The Telegraph that Left Front candidate Ramendra Debbarma was campaigning at Brahmabari with his supporters in the morning when IPFT supporters attacked them.

In the clash, 10 persons were injured, including officer-in-charge of Amarendranagar police outpost Bharat Debbarma and sub-inspector Ringrai Halam. The duo were shifted to Gobind Ballabh Pant Hospital, where West Tripura superintendent of police Abhijit Saptarshi and inspector-general of police (law and order) K.V. Sreejesh visited them.

Four injured CPM workers and two IPFT supporters were admitted to Takarjala hospital. Two other police personnel, Hemanta Debbarma and Debendra Reang, sustained minor injuries. Security was tightened after the clash.

Ramendra was a member of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council for 10 years before he decided to contest the Assembly polls.

CPM Bishalgarh district committee secretary and veteran leader Gora Chakraborty alleged that the BJP and the IPFT were behind the attack.

"Their unholy alliance has been trying to intimidate the people for quite some time now. They have realised that they cannot win in a free and fair election," he told this correspondent. He said IPFT chief N.C. Debbarma could have a "hand" in the incident.

IPFT general secretary Mewar Kumar Jamatia said the allegations against his party supporters were "outright lies" and the CPM had filed "false police complaints" to defame the indigenous party. IPFT leaders in Takarjala alleged that CPM supporters had set ablaze two motorcycles at Moharrampara area.

The BJP has forged an alliance with the IPFT in nine seats for Tripura Assembly polls.


Back to top icon