The Telegraph
Sunday, December 17, 2017

Collegium names HC judges

First published on 07-Dec-2017

New Delhi: The Supreme Court collegium has cleared the names of 19 advocates for elevation as judges of various high courts and recommended that 23 additional judges of various high courts, including Jharkhand, be made permanent judges.

Additional judges Ananda Sen and Anant Bijay Singh would now become permanent judges of the Jharkhand High Court.

A judge is initially appointed as an additional judge for two years, following which the status of permanent judge is conferred if the performance is found satisfactory.

The other high courts where appointments have been recommended include those in Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Chennai and Madhya Pradesh.

In Chattisgarh, additional judges Sanjay Agrawal and Rajendra Chandra Singh Samant were to be made permanent judges of the high court. In Karnataka, additional judge Narendar G. is to be a permanent judge of the high court.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • Students demand CBI probe into rape-kill
  • Gunpoint snatch at steel city's heart
  • Swanky terminus by Jan-end
  • Caddie swings it at elite tourney
  • RMC U-turn on vendor diktat
  • Solar charkha debuts in state
  • Mental health syllabus plea
  • Xmas launch for party zone
  • No I-card, no vote
  • Pithe puli meets fair fun today
  • Lankan golfer emerges leader
  • Fortunes on downward spiral for Koda & friends
  • Koda sentenced to 3 years' RI
  • Suicide hints at wages row
  • Congress protest against CM conduct