Rejig in roles of state babus

Read more below

  • Published 25.01.14

The state government on Friday shifted 11 Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers, including four district magistrates and three deputy development commissioners.

Vaishali, Bhagalpur, Buxar and Banka have got new district magistrates (DMs). A new inspector-general (IG) would be posted at the prison directorate to handle 54 jails, including eight central jails in the state.

The incumbent IG (prisons) Anand Kishor has been relieved of the charge.

A notification issued by the general administration department said Vaishali DM Jitendra Srivastava would join as managing director of Bihar State Power Generation Company Limited, Patna.

Srivastava had landed in a soup after the death of a convict in a violent group clash in the Hajipur divisional jail in October last year. The government had ordered a high-level probe into the security lapses, which led to the law and order problem in the prison.

Bhagalpur DM Prem Singh Meena has been made the new IG (prisons). Meena has been given additional charge of IG (prosecution) at the headquarters. Buxar DM Vinod Singh Gunjiyal would be the new DM of Vaishali.

Banka DM Kartikey Dhanji Buddhdhabhatti would replace Meena. Similarly, deputy development commissioner-cum-chief executive officer of Gaya district board Giriwar Dayal Singh has been shifted to the general administration department in Patna as deputy secretary.

Singh’s Nalanda counterpart, Saket Kumar, has been appointed as the DM of Banka.

Raman Kumar, who was earlier holding the post of deputy development commissioner of Saran, would be the new DM of Buxar.

Rajgir sub-divisional officer Rachna Patil has been made deputy development commissioner-cum-chief executive officer of Nalanda district board. His Aurangabad counterpart, Rajiv Roshan, has been transferred to Saran as deputy development commissioner.

Motihari Sadar sub-divisional officer (East Champaran) Alok Ranjan Ghosh has been shifted to Rajgir in the same capacity.

This is the second bureaucratic shuffle in the state within a week. Earlier, 19 IAS officers, including four in the rank of commissioner, were transferred.