Vivek effort goes in vain

Calcutta: Vivek Singh registered a fantastic 147, yet Bengal suffered a defeat to Uttar Pradesh in their third Group B match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Friday that virtually dashed their hopes of progressing to the next round.

Bengal won the toss after a very long time and decided to bowl at the Luhnu Cricket Ground in Bilaspur, but Uttar Pradesh piled on 329 for four.

Bengal’s reply began on a disastrous note as they lost openers Sreevats Goswami and Abhimanyu Easwaran cheaply.
However, they looked to be on track with a 121-run partnership between Vivek and Anustup Majumdar (51).

Meanwhile, Ashok Dinda has been ruled out of remaining matches and is set to come back because of fever. Alokpratap Singh and B. Amit will be going in as replacements.

Uttar Pradesh

P. Gupta    c Goswami b Vivek    60
S. C’dhary    c Gani b Ghosh    11
U. Sharma    lbw Gani    51
S. Raina    c Tiwary b Gani    31
A. Nath    not out    103
Md Saif    not out    50
Extras (lb-4, w-19)    23
Total (4 wickets;  50 overs)    329
Fall of wickets 1/45, 2/99, 3/151, 4/197
Bowling: Dinda 9-0-62-0, Seth 9-0-61-0, Ghosh 9-0-61-1, Vivek 5-0-24-1, Gupta 1-0-9-0, Gani 10-0-59-2, Majumdar 2-0-18-0, Tiwary 5-0-31-0


S. Goswami    c Yadav b Rajpoot    5
A. Easwaran    c Yadav b Tyagi    0
V. Singh    c sub b Saurabh    147
A. Majumdar    b Raina    51
M. Tiwary    b Saurabh    32
W. Chatterjee    lbw Tyagi    35
S. Gupta    c & b Rajpoot    22
A. Gani    c Gupta b Mohsin    5
K. Seth    c Tyagi b Mohsin    4
A. Dinda    c Yadav b Rajpoot    8
S. Ghosh    not out    1
Extras (lb-4, w-8)    12
Total (all out; 49.4 overs)    322
Fall of wickets 1/4, 2/34, 3/155, 4/238, 5/249, 6/291, 7/300, 8/311, 9/321
Bowling: Rajpoot 9.4-0-51-3, Tyagi 10-0-61-2, Mohsin 10-0-66-2, Saurabh 10-0-69-2, Sharma 3-0-18-0, Chaudhary 1-0-12-0, Saif 3-0-24-0, Raina 3-0-17-1


Back to top icon