Vinay Kumar wreaks havoc

Vinay Kumar on Thursday

Nagpur: Captain Ranganath Vinay Kumar led from the front with some devastating bowling and picked up a six-wicket haul, including a hat-trick, to help Karnataka bundle out Mumbai for 173 in the Ranji Trophy quarter-final round, here, on Thursday.

Vinay Kumar, who made most of the conditions which aided pace bowling after inserting Mumbai on winning the toss, returned with impressive figures of six for 34 and registering a hat-trick completed in two overs, as 41-time champions Mumbai crumbled in only 56 overs on Day I, at the VCA Stadium.

To continue their domination, Karnataka replied with 115 for one at stumps, as they placed themselves 58 runs adrift of Mumbai with their in-form opener Mayank Agarwal unbeaten on 62 off 83 balls and M Abbas batting on 12. Vinay Kumar also became the third bowler to complete a hat-trick against Mumbai, the other two being B Kalyanasundaram for Tamil Nadu in the 1972-73 Ranji final and Raghuram Bhat for Karnataka in the 1981-82 season.

He became the sixth bowler to take a hat-trick in the knockout stage of the competition.

Kumar wreaked havoc on the Mumbai batting line-up as he removed in-form opener Prithvi Shaw (2), edging to first slip Karun Nair, in the last ball of his first over with the team total being just six. Then with the first ball of his next over, Vinay Kumar dismissed the other opener Jay Bista in similar fashion, before completing his hat-trick by trapping Akash Parkar in front of the wicket to reduce Mumbai to seven for three.

Vinay Kumar later scalped Siddhesh Lad, Akhil Herwadkar and Karsh Kothari to complete his devastating spell. Mumbai were reeling at 74 for seven, before medium-pacer Dhawal Kulkarni, who came in to bat at number nine, counter-attacked with a knock of 75 in 132 balls, to take his team beyond the 150-run mark. 

In Vijaywada, Vikas Mishra struck thrice, helping Delhi reduce Madhya Pradesh to 223 for six on the first day. Opener Ankit Dane (59) and Naman Ojha (49) batted well for Madhya Pradesh, but could not get the big score their team wanted.
Harpeet Singh frustrated the Delhi bowlers with an unbeaten 47 towards the end of the day’s play and was batting alongside Puneet Datey at stumps. Delhi struck early after opting to bowl as medium-pacer Navdeep Saini trapped opener Rajat Patidar in front of the stumps.

In Surat, KC Akshay claimed two wickets to help Kerala reduce Vidarbha to 45 for three on the opening day of their quarter-final match which was truncated due to wet outfield.


In Nagpur: Mumbai 173 (D. Kulkarni 75; R Vinay Kumar 6/34) vs Karnataka 115/1 (M. Agarwal 62 batting).
In Vijaywada: Madhya Pradesh 223/6 (A. Dane 59; V. Mishra 3/40) vs Delhi.
In Surat: Vidarbha 45/3 vs Kerala.

Matches to continue



Back to top icon