IN THE CITY 23-07-2008

Riya bags title TT squad EB coach

By The Telegraph Online
  • Published 23.07.08

Riya bags title

Chittaranjan High School, Purulia and South Point won the boys and girls team titles, respectively, in the Patterson Memorial table tennis Championship on Tuesday. In the boys final Chittaranjan High School beat Manbhoom Victoria Institution 3-1 while South Point girls blanked St John’s Diacesan 3-0. Riya Dutta beat Moumita Sarkar 11-4, 11-7, 11-5 to win the girl’s singles title while Anubhav Kundu overcame Ranadip Dutta 11-9, 8-11, 11-4, 11-8 to claim the boy’s title.

TT squad

East Bengal have announced their table-tennis team for the inaugural ONGC Bengal Premier League organised by the West Bengal Table Tennis Association. National champions Poulomi Ghatak and Soumyadeep Roy are the most notable names in a team also including Sougata Sarkar, Amit Das, Jayati Pushilal and others. Coach Jayanta Pushilal will be in charge of the team. The tournament starts on Wednesday.

EB coach

Mridul Bandyopadhyay has been appointed as East Bengal’s new practice coach. He replaces Alok Mukherjee. It was also announced that Alvito D’Cunha will be the club’s brand ambassador for the current season.