5 city teams in 2nd division

Read more below

  • Published 5.01.12

New Delhi: Five teams from Calcutta — Mohammedan Sporting, Aryan, Bhowanipore, Kalighat and Southern Samity — have been selected to play in the second division of the I-League, which will start in the first week of next month.

According to AIFF sources, a total of 23 teams have been divided into three groups. The matches will be played in Nagpur, New Delhi and Silchar. Two teams from each group will qualify for the final rounds. The venue for the final round will be decided later. Top two teams will play in the I-League next season.


Group One (Nagpur): Golden Threads, PIFA Colaba, Vasco , Ar-Hima, Luangmual, Aryan, Bhowanipore and Samaleswari; Group Two (Delhi): Mohammedan Sporting, Eagles FC, Guwahati Town Club, Aizwal FC, Kenkre FC, Royal Wahingdoh FC, Shimla Youngs and KGF Academy; Group Three (Silchar): Kalighat, Southern Samity, United Sikkim, Sesa Academy, Green Valley, Quartz and Langsing