The Telegraph
Friday, December 15, 2017

Names for Calcutta HC cleared

First published on 07-Dec-2017

New Delhi: The Supreme Court collegium has cleared the names of 19 advocates for elevation as judges of various high courts.

The names include five for Calcutta High Court. They are Shampa Sarkar, Sabyasachi Chaudhury, Ravi Krishan Kapur, Arindam Mukherjee and Sakya Sen.

The name of one nominee has been rejected on the basis of an income criterion. "As regards Piush Chaturvedi... his average professional income is well below the prescribed minimum professional income limit," the collegium said.

The collegium also recommended that 23 additional judges of different high courts can be made permanent judges.

A judge is initially appointed as an additional judge for two years, following which the status of permanent judge is conferred if the performance is found satisfactory.

The other high courts where appointments have been recommended include those in Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

 More stories in India

  • Supreme Court to give Rohingya issue a holistic hearing, no emotional pleas
  • SC refuses to relax firecracker sale ban in Delhi-NCR, rejects traders' plea
  • Constitution bench to decide entry of women in Sabarimala temple
  • Alarm as India skids on global hunger list
  • Punishment meted out by JNU set aside
  • Gujarat BJP pins hope on Modi, Shah
  • Varun for women's bill
  • Sangh tribute to Gauri
  • Kejriwal's car stolen from secretariat
  • Shield for IIT, IIM higher pay
  • SC panel to pick 'senior advocates'
  • Appeal to PM for 'bold' Rohingya line
  • Delhi seals lips on Nepal
  • Talwar relatives 'grateful'
  • Friday hearing against Delhi cracker sale ban
  • Grenade targets salon in Kashmir
  • Slip tally in one booth each
  • Can quash any law: SC
  • Envoy to Pakistan to move to China
  • Cobra scare at JNU