Duleep Trophy scrapped

Calcutta: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to do away with the Duleep Trophy for the upcoming domestic season.

It seems that the tournament couldn't be accommodated due to a packed schedule in the coming season. However, the BCCI media release didn't specify anything about the scrapping of the Duleep Trophy.

"This year BCCI will conduct more than 900 matches in the span of 6 months starting from October 2015 and ending in the beginning of March 2016, before the start of the World T20, which will be hosted in India. This will translate into 2100 playing days of cricket that includes, senior domestic tournaments, junior domestic tournaments and women's cricket," the media release from the Board said.

The Duleep Trophy was considered to be among the tournaments where a good performance could open the path to be selected in the national team. The most recent case was that of Lokesh Rahul, who made it to the Australia bound Test team on the back of his twin centuries in the Duleep Trophy final for South Zone while playing against Central Zone.

The Board has also decided to implement the suggestions given by the Anil Kumble-led technical committee where in the Deodhar Trophy will feature four 50-overs matches across five days between January 24-28.

It will be on lines of the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy, where there will be three teams.

Just like the Challenger series, the Vijay Hazare Trophy champions will be one of the teams, which will compete with two other teams. These two teams will be selected by the national selectors based on the performances in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

"The Deodhar trophy will be played on a 3-team format which comprises of the champion team of the Vijay Hazare tournament and 2 other teams which will be selected by the senior national selectors," the release stated.

Also, the Vijay Hazare Trophy's format is in for a change from the zonal to knock-out stages as all teams on basis of the performance will now be divided into groups just like the Ranji Trophy.

For the upcoming season, the teams have been divided into four groups and these groups have been made based on last year's performance in the respective tournaments.

A new under-19 Challenger tournament has been introduced in the junior level which will feature three teams selected by the junior national selectors. This tournament will help the youngsters to present their case before the national squad is selected for the Under-19 World Cup, to be played in Bangladesh, in January.

Major tournaments

  • Ranji Trophy — League stage: Oct. 1 to Dec. 4;  Knockouts: Feb.3 to 28
  • Vijay Hazare Trophy — Group stage: Dec. 8 to 16; Knockouts: Dec.21 to 25
  • Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy — Group stage: Jan. 2 to 10; Super league: Jan. 15 to 20
  • Deodhar Trophy: Jan. 24 to 28
  • Irani Cup: March 6 to 10


Back to top icon