The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

5 trains for Tatanagar

The railway authorities have announced as many as five trains, including two AC premium ones, which will pass through Tatanagar station, in its new timetable effective from September 1.

According to the new timetable issued by the South Eastern Railway (SER), headquartered in Calcutta, on Wednesday evening, the two AC premium trains will run on Howrah-Mumbai (LTT) and Howrah-Pune routes.

The bi-weekly trains, which were announced in the Narendra Modi government’s maiden railway budget earlier this year, will have 17 coaches, including a pantry car.

The SER has also regularised the Santragachi-Anand Vihar (Delhi), a weekly superfast train that used to run as a special train only during Durga Puja.

On its onward journey, the train will leave Santragachi every Monday at 8.50am and reach Tatanagar at 12.50pm. The train will travel via Purulia, Gomoh, Mughalsarai, Allahabad and Kanpur to reach Anand Vihar the next day. On its return journey, the train will leave Anand Vihar on Tuesdays at 1.35pm and reach Tatanagar the next day at 12.55pm.

The SER, in the new timetable, has also incorporated a pair of weekly expresses between Tatanagar and Baiyyappanahalli (Bangalore) and another pair of passenger trains between Tatanagar and Chakulia stations.

Station manager of Tatanagar Awtar Singh said all the new trains included in the timetable were actually announced in this year’s railway budget. “The schedule of the new trains will be announced next month,” he said.

Moreover, the departure time of 16 mail/express trains originating from Howrah, Shalimar, Tatanagar, Ranchi and Hatia will change from September 1.

This apart, the notification says that the departure time of 12 passenger trains will also change from Howrah, Kharagpur and other originating stations under SER.

The Chotanagpur Passengers’ Association has welcomed the railway decision to introduce new trains for Tatanagar. “It is a positive development that will benefit passengers,” said U.K. Srivastava, a senior functionary of the association.