The Telegraph
Friday , August 22 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

CPM bypoll candidates

Calcutta, Aug. 21: The Left Front today declared its candidates for the Chowringhee and Basirhat South Assembly bypolls, with the CPM deciding to contest both seats.

Fayaz Ahmed Khan, a former CPM councillor from the port area, will contest the Chowringhee seat while Mrinal Chakraborty, a zonal committee member from Basirhat, will enter the fray from Basirhat South. Chowringhee has a sizeable minority population.

At a news conference in Alimuddin Street to announce the names of the candidates, Left Front chairman and CPM state secretary Biman Bose said: “Anarchy and terror are widespread in the state. The law-and-order situation is deteriorating fast. In such an atmosphere, bypolls will be held. But we are gearing up to face the election battle.”

The Left had not put up a nominee for the Chowringhee constituency in the 2011 Assembly elections, leaving the seat to Lalu Prasad’s RJD.

The state BJP has proposed the names of party general secretary Samik Bhattacharya and secretary Ritesh Tewari for the Basirhat South and Chowringhee seats, respectively.