The Telegraph
Monday , August 18 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Bagan have stroll in the park

Calcutta: McDowell Mohun Bagan’s domination against Police AC was so complete on Sunday, in their 3-0 victory in a Calcutta Football League championship round match, that Police coach Chima Okorie conceded his team was lucky not to concede more.

With Jeje Lalpekhlua and CS Sabeeth scoring within two minutes of each other, Mohun Bagan had taken a 2-0 lead by the 12th minute. A 72nd minute penalty conversion by Balwant Singh completed the tally.

Man of the Match Katsumi Yusa’s performance at the Salt Lake Stadium on Sunday will go a long way to instil confidence in a team that is yearning to come back to winning ways and get a trophy in its cupboard. Pierre Boya, Bagan’s import from Cameroon, did have his moments of sparkle, though the striker would have liked to have a bit more support from teammates to be more effective upfront.

Technical director Subhas Bhowmick, however, is confident that once Boya finds his rhythm, he will be a treat to watch. “.

Had Bagan been able to sustain the momentum that they had generated in the first half hour of play, then the score, as Chima had feared, would have been a lot more in Bagan’s favour.

Bagan went into early lead in the 10 th minute. Souvik Ghosh advanced down the left flank and a minus found Jeje in the right spot. Jeje deftly placed the ball inside the net to take his team ahead.

Even before Police AC could recover, an almost similar attack saw Bagan take a 2-0 lead in the 12th minute.

This time, it was Katsumi who sprinted down the left flank and his pass found Sabeeth well placed in front of the goal.

Sabeeth’s clean finish did not give goalkeeper Jhantu Mondal any chance.

But then Bagan players started taking things a little easy. The 2-0 half-time lead stayed till Balwant added to the tally with the penalty. Amol Ghosh brought him down inside the penalty box, and Balwant got sweet revenge taking the score to 3-0.


Mohun Bagan: Shilton Paul, Souvik Chakrabarti (Lalkamal Bhowmick, 46), Kinshuk Debnath, Dhanachnadra Singh, Satish Singh, Shouvik Ghosh, Sehnaj Singh, Katsumi Yusa, Pierre Boya (Balwant Singh, 65), CS Sabeeth (Ram Malik, 77), Jeje Lalpekhlua.

Police AC: Jhantu Mondal, Eze Kingsley Obumneme, Satyajit Dutta, Samir Basu, Amal Ghosh, Abhijit Sarkar, Sujit Roy (Ujjal Ghosh, 38) Emmanuel Ini Oyoh (James Gbilee, 75), Sagar Hang Limboo, Hirak Saha (Subasish Roy Chowdhary, 24), Abhishek Debnath.

Man of the Match: Katsumi Yusa.

Referee: Ajit Dutta.