The Telegraph
Tuesday , August 12 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Purnima and Chinir triumph

Imphal, Aug. 11: Rk. Chinir Singh and N. Purnima Devi claimed the singles titles for men and women of the 59th State Badminton Championship, 2014 played at MBA indoor hall, DM College.

National under-13 champion M. Meiraba Luwang grabbed twin titles claiming the under-13 boys’ and under-15 boys’ singles titles.

The men’s singles final saw a tough fight between Chinir and W. James Singh, extending to three sets, where the former ultimately prevailed. Chinir sweated it out to win the first game by 21-19 points. However, James Singh got back into the game in the second set with 21-15 points to level the game 1-1. The deciding game saw Chinir romp off in style with 21-16 points for the champion’s title.

In the women’s singles final, N. Purnima Devi pushed N. Angita Devi to the back foot to register 21-11 and 21-9 points for the title.

Purnima also grabbed the under-17 girls’ singles title, beating Angita 17-21, 21-11, 21-16.

Teenage sensation and national champion M. Meiraba Luwang also satisfied his fans claiming the under-13 boys’ title beating O. Chandrajit 21-10, 21-9. Meiraba also went on to capture the under-15 boys’ title as well defeat O. Aimson 21-18, 26-24.

However, there was solace for Aimson Singh in the under-17 boys’ singles as he claimed the champion’s title beating Rk. Aris by 21-8, 21-18.

The other title winners are K. Dinku and Kh. Manjit in the boys’ doubles under-13 and under-15. K. Priya won the girls’ singles under-13, Jubileeliu Daimai and Rk. Poukhanchungliv the women’s doubles. Y. Dhanabati won the girls’ singles under-15, I. Yaitomba the boys’ singles under-19, M. Somibala the girls’ singles under-19, H. Punshiba and Rk. Chinir the mixed doubles. L. Dickson and Rk. Aris lifted the boys’ doubles under-17 title and K. Priya and Kh. Roshmi the girls’ doubles (under-13 category).

Chess: Alex Kh bagged the title of the second Kanglei Chess Academy’s under-15 Second Saturday and Sunday Rapid Chess Tournament, 2014 played at Yaiskul. N. Yohenba Singh and Konalika Devi took the second and third spots.

Thang Ta: Pahulashi Mayaikoibi added four more gold medals to their tally in the 25th State Thang Ta Championship 2014 which got under way at Khuman Lampak indoor stadium today.