The Telegraph
Saturday , July 26 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

ACA forms technical committee

Guwahati, July 25: The Assam Cricket Association (ACA) detractors will no longer be able to blame the ACA or demand the resignation of its secretary Bikash Baruah for the failure of the state teams to deliver.

In a pre-emptive measure, the ACA has constituted a technical advisory committee in its meeting with the secretaries of the affiliated district units yesterday. The panel will be responsible for constituting the selection committees, apart from guiding and assisting the ACA in various matters related to development of the sport.

The 11-member committee, headed by former ICC umpire Niloy Dutta as chairman, comprises former players Prabir Hazarika, Amal Das, Gautam Dutta, Devajit Chetia, Ashok Medhi, Parag Das, Tapan Sarma, Biswajit Majumdar and the joint director (coaching) of the Assam Cricket Academy who is the ex-officio member. ACA secretary Bikash Baruah is the convenor. A similar committee was constituted a few years ago but could not deliver due to alleged interference by the ACA office- bearers.

“The committee will advise the ACA about measures to check overage players participating in age group tournaments, selection of talented players from trials, organise coaching camps for BCCI tournaments and everything pertaining to fielding strong teams in the season ahead. No one from among us will interfere in the activities of the panel,” ACA secretary Bikash Baruah said. He, however, indicated that the meeting of district secretaries yesterday has requested the ACA to inform the panel not to involve a few former players as selectors or coaches or anything related to the ACA because of their past unwarranted behaviour.